Al Boggess, Great Great Grandson of Baylor's First Chair of Mathematics, Lectures at Baylor

May 18, 2015

Albert Boggess, Director of the School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences at Arizona State University, delivered a lecture "What Insights Does Complex Analysis Bring to the Field of Differential Equations" on April 16.

Al Boggess
Al Boggess

Chatting Before his Lecture
Chatting Before His Lecture

Al Boggess with Chair
Al Boggess with Lance Littlejohn (Chair)

Prior to joining ASU in 2012, Al was Department Head in mathematics at Texas A&M University from 2002-2012. It was during his tenure as head at A&M that saw his department move rapidly up in the national rankings of graduate mathematics programs. He earned his B.S. degree in mathematics from the University of Texas in 1975 and his Ph.D. in mathematics from Rice in 1979. After completing a post doc position at the University of Michigan, Al joined the Department of Mathematics at Texas A&M in 1982. His research areas are harmonic analysis, several complex variables and partial differential equations. In addition to writing journal articles extensively in these subjects, Al is also widely known for his popular books "A First Course in Wavelets with Fourier Analysis" Differential Equations and Boundary Value Problems" (with David Arnold and John Polking).

Al's great great grandfather, also named Albert Boggess, was a key figure in the developmental years of Waco University and Baylor University under the leadership of President Rufus C. Burleson. Indeed, Professor Boggess (1839-1891) was the first chairman of the mathematics department. He taught mathematics, astronomy, and engineering at Baylor University from 1887 to 1891 and was chairman of the Department of Mathematics during that time. He was also a civil war hero who participated in the Battle of New Market in 1865 while a student at the Virginia Military Institute (this battle was recently portrayed in the film "Field of Lost Shoes").

Albert Boggess
Albert Boggess

The Boggess family has three endowed scholarships in the department: The Professor Albert Boggess Mathematics Scholarship Fund, The John Compere Lattimore Mathematics Scholarship Fund and The Ruth and Gene Royer Mathematics Scholarship Fund. Further information on these scholarships can be found at Baylor Mathematics Scholarships.

Are you looking for more News?


Sid Richardson Science Building
One Bear Place #97328
Waco, TX 76798

(254) 710-3561