About the Department

The Department of Mathematics has much to offer to both students and prospective faculty.

With excellent facilities housed in the newly renovated and centrally located Sid Richardson building, the department has a faculty and staff dedicated to helping our students. Our faculty (22 tenured or tenure-track, 7 lecturers) pride themselves with their 'easy access' attitude when helping students. We offer a wide variety of courses leading to a B.S. degree in mathematics, a B.S. degree in applied mathematics, and a B.A. degree in mathematics.

Sid Rich Office Picture

The department also has a growing graduate program leading to the Master of Science degree and to the Doctor of Philosophy degree. We currently have 32 graduate students studying in the department with faculty members working on state-of-the-art research problems. We encourage visitors to our web pages to check out the research interests of our faculty by perusing their individual web pages.

If you need further information, please do not hesitate to contact any of our faculty or staff!

Administrative Faculty

Dorina Mitrea, Ph.D.
Professor of Mathematics
Department Chair
John Davis, Ph.D.
Professor of Mathematics
Undergraduate Program Director
Ron Morgan, Ph.D.
Professor of Mathematics
Associate Department Chair
Undergraduate Advisor


Sid Richardson Science Building
1410 S.4th Street
Waco, TX 76706

(254) 710-3561