John S. Belew Collection

John S. Belew Collection

The Belew Collection was established in 1991, and named in honor of Dr. John S. Belew, Baylor class of ’41. He began teaching as a professor of chemistry in 1954, and then he served as Provost of Baylor University from 1979-91. His wife Ruth M. Belew was a lecturer in Baylor Theater Arts Department from 1967-92. During the early years of the Martin Museum of Art, Belew was an enthusiastic supporter of the new museum and was integral in acquiring artwork for the foundation and expansion of the permanent collection. The Belew Collection is a collection of artwork donated by tenured track and tenured professors from Baylor’s Department of Art.


Artists in the Belew Collection

Mark Anderson Berry Klingman
Robbie Barber John McClanahan
Kyle Chaput Sandra McCollister
Bob Cromer Paul McCoy
Michael Darough Mark Moran
Susan Dunkerley Joseph Morzuch
Leah Force Susan Mullally
Benny Fountain Denny Pickett
Mack Gingles Mark Pomolio
Virginia Green Terry Roller
Julia Hitchcock H. Jennings Sheffield
Charles Isoline Hugo Shi
Michael Johnson Mary Ruth Smith
Paul Kemp Karl Umlauf

Martin Museum of Art

Address:Martin Museum of Art
Hooper-Schaefer Fine Arts Center
60 Baylor Ave
Waco, TX 76707