Bench and Bar

BCPM is home to the papers of district judges, Texas Supreme Court Justices, and Baylor Law School administrators. Together, these holdings represent the balance of power between the judiciary, legislative and the executive branches of government.

Charles W. Barrow (1921-2006)
Papers, 1977-1984, 3 linear ft.

Charles W. Barrow served as a Texas Supreme Court Judge from 1977 until 1984. A graduate of the Baylor School of Law, Barrow was named Baylor Lawyer of the Year for 1972 and served as Dean of the Baylor School of Law from 1984 to 1991.

Olivero P. "O.P." Carrillo (1924-2001)
Papers, 1971-1975, 1.5 linear ft.

O.P. Carrillo was elected as judge of the 229th Judicial District and took office on January 1, 1971. In 1975, a special committee of the Texas House of Representatives unanimously approved an impeachment resolution that was later adopted by the whole House. The Texas Senate impeached Carrillo and removed him from office in 1976 for abuse of power and misuse of county funds.

Jack English Hightower (1926-2013)
Papers, 1988-1995

Jack Hightower was elected and served on the Texas Supreme Court from 1988 until 1995. He served Texas in nearly every way imaginable and was a devoted husband to Colleen, his wife of sixty-three years, and father to their three daughters.

Samuel Dodson "Sam" Johnson Jr. (1920-2002)
Papers, 1979-1999, 100 linear ft., CLOSED

Sam Johnson served as District Court Judge in Texas’ 66th Judicial District (1959-1965); Associate Justice, Texas court of Civil Appeals, 14th District, Houston (1967-1972); Associate Justice, Texas Supreme Court (1973-1979); and Senior Judge, Fifth Circuit Court, New Orleans (1979-1999). Judge Johnson is buried in the Texas State Cemetery in Austin, TX.

Bobby "Bob" Lloyd Thomas (1937-1996)
Papers, 1982-1996, 7.5 linear ft.

Bob Thomas served as a Justice of the Tenth Court of Appeals from 1982-1996, and from 1989-1996 he served as the Chief Justice.

Papers, 1972-2009, 2 document and 1 oversize boxes, and 2 oversize signs

Bill Vance served as a Justice of the Tenth Court of Appeals from 1990-2009.