Baylor Archivist Helps Congress Celebrate Its 225th

April 2, 2014

Debbie Davidonis-Todd, Bullock Archivist for Baylor's W. R. Poage Legislative Library, served on an Association of Centers for the Study of Congress (ACSC) task force to help launch a website and plan several activities to commemmorate the 225th year of the United States Congress. Congress Week began Tuesday, April 1 and runs through Monday, April 7. Regional events mark the week, beginning with the story of creating the archives of the First Congress in Washington, D.C., on April 2, and ending with conference sessions held in Shepherdstown, West Virginia on April 4-5. In addition to these regional presentations, the ACSC has been posting extraordinary moments in Congressional history to their social media outlets and encouraging other partners to celebrate along with them by sharing. The goal of the regional and online events are to commemmorate the "rich and colorful history" of the United States Congress.

The ACSC, which began in 2003, has regularly celebrated the birthdate of Congress by creating commemorative posters and distributing them to each member of Congress and making them available to others. This year organizers decided to expand their efforts to include an informative website and social media content. Task force members are encouraging people to follow the ACSC Facebook, Twitter and other social media accounts and to tweet birthday greetings to the United States Congress using the hashtag #HappyBirthdayCongress or @congresscenters.

Baylor's W. R. Poage Legislative Library is one of the 40 members of the Association of Centers for the Study of Congress. While Baylor is not hosting a regional presentation this year, efforts are already underway to be a part of the 226th birthday celebration.

A full schedule of regional events and further information about ACSC is available at

The ACSC task force is comprised of:

Marie Carr, Archivist, Senator Max Baucus

Ray Smock, Director, Robert C. Byrd Center for Legislative Studies at Shepard University and Former Historian of the United States House of Representatives, 1983-1995

Jay Wyatt, Director of Programs and Research, also of the Byrd Center

Bailey Hoffner, Archivist, Carl Albert Center at the University of Oklahoma

Stephanie Bayless, Archivist, Butler Center for Arkansas Studies, University of Arkansas

Cindy Koeppel, The Dirksen Congressional Center

Debbie Davidonis-Todd, Bullock Archivist, Baylor University

The Association of Centers for the Study of Congress, founded in 2003, is an independent, non-partisan alliance of more than 40 organizations and institutions which promote a wide range of programs and research opportunities related to Congress. Many of the member institutions house archival collections of the papers of current and former members of the House of Representatives, the Senate, and other related research collections.

W.R. Poage Legislative Library is a research facility that collects congressional records and personal papers related to the political history of Central Texas. It houses the papers of 12 former members of Congress, six Texas legislators, five judges, an editorial cartoon collection, extremist organizations' materials, one Lieutenant Governor's papers and records of the McLennan County Democratic Party. In addition, the library contains a map collection, an extensive campaign materials collection and a 20,000-volume book collection focusing on Congress, political history and areas of public policy.