Baylor Law Professor Receives Glass Cutter Award from ABA Business Law Section

April 29, 2011
Elizabeth Miller, professor of law at Baylor Law School, has received the 2011 Jean Allard Glass Cutter Award from the American Bar Association Business Law Section. Miller accepted the award at the Section luncheon at the 2011 Spring Meeting in Boston, Massachusetts.
Miller was nominated for the award by the leadership of the LLCs, Partnerships and Unincorporated Entities Committee of the ABA Business Law Section, in which she has been active for many years and of which she served as Chair from 2004-2007.
"Jean Allard was widely celebrated among her colleagues for her legal acumen, professionalism, commitment to service and generous mentoring, especially for other women in the profession. Beth Miller holds in abundance those same characteristics, and Baylor Law School is immensely proud to claim her as one of our own," said Baylor Law Dean Brad Toben.
A Baylor Law alumna, Miller has taught at her alma mater since 1991 and is a nationally recognized authority on the law of limited liability companies (LLCs) and limited liability partnerships (LLPs). She has helped draft legislation affecting Texas business organizations and was a principal drafter for the ABA's Revised Prototype Limited Liability Company Act and Prototype Limited Liability Partnership Agreement. In addition to her service to the ABA Business Law Section, she has held leadership positions for the State Bar of Texas, including Chair of the Business Law Section of the State Bar of Texas. She also has served as president, vice-president, secretary and treasurer of the Waco-McLennan County Bar Association. She is an elected member of the American Law Institute, the American Bar Foundation, and the Texas Bar Foundation.
Miller writes and publishes frequently, and is highly regarded for preparing and publishing summaries of nearly every LLC and LLP case decided in every jurisdiction. She is also the co-author of a three-volume treatise (with annual supplements) on Texas business organizations law published by Thomson/West (Vols. 19, 20 and 20A, Business Organizations, Texas Practice Series).
"Of the many extraordinary women I have had the opportunity to work with on the Committee over the last 15 years, as well as in my general private practice over the last 25 years, I can think of no one who has made as meaningful a contribution to the profession and to the Business Law Section as Beth while at the same time demonstrating the highest level of professional excellence in the alternative entity field," said Louis G. Hering, partner at Morris, Nichols, Arsht, & Tunnel LLP in Delaware.
Miller received her J.D. from Baylor Law with highest honors and was first in her graduating class. While at Baylor Law School, she was Editor in Chief of the Baylor Law Review and the recipient of numerous academic awards. Upon graduation, she received the highest score in the State of Texas on the July 1985 bar examination. She received her B.A. from Baylor University in 1982, summa cum laude.
Given annually since 1993, the Glass Cutter Award recognizes an exceptional woman business lawyer who has made significant contributions to the profession and the Business Law Section. The award is named for Jean Allard, the first woman to Chair the Business Law Section in 1989-1990.
Are you looking for more News?