Interim Associate Dean Matt Cordon Named the A. Royce Stout Endowed Chair of Law

July 19, 2023

Interim Associate Dean Matt Cordon Named the A. Royce Stout Endowed Chair of Law

WACO, Texas -

Professor of Law Matt Cordon has been named the A. Royce Stout Chair of Law. A member of the Baylor Law faculty since 2000, Cordon became Interim Associate Dean of Baylor Law on July 1. He will continue to serve as Director of Legal Writing and has long been active as a faculty leader at Baylor University. He has received two separate outstanding professor awards from the University, one for scholarship in 2004 and one for teaching in 2019. He has been twice elected to serve as Chair of the Faculty Senate, including terms in 2007-08 and 2020-21. He represented the Law School on the Faculty Senate for twelve years, served ten years as the Chair of the University Committee on Committees, and has been a chair or member of more than a dozen other campus-wide committees and work groups. As an instructor, he is primarily responsible for teaching introductory writing courses in the Legal Analysis, Research, and Communications (LARC) program. Furthermore, Professor Cordon is the visionary behind the creation of the Advanced Legal Research course, which has been an integral part of Baylor Law’s curriculum since 2001.

In addition to his exceptional teaching abilities, Professor Cordon has made significant contributions to legal scholarship. His insightful articles have appeared in such publications as the Law Library Journal, the Baylor Law Review, and The Second Draft. Moreover, he has been the principal author of over 3,800 essays featured in prominent references, including West’s Encyclopedia of American Law, Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law, American Law Yearbook, Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States, Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health, and the International Directory of Business Biographies.

“Professor Matt Cordon’s tireless dedication to excellence in legal research and writing, coupled with his innovative teaching techniques and prolific writing, has profoundly impacted the lives and careers of thousands of Baylor Lawyers. His appointment to the A. Royce Stout Chair of Law is a testament to his exceptional contributions and remarkable leadership,” notes Dean Emeritus Brad Toben. “We are confident that he will continue to inspire and elevate our academic programs, leaving an indelible mark on the field of law.”

Baylor Law currently has thirty-six full-time faculty positions and nine occupied endowed chairs.

MEDIA CONTACT: Ed Nelson, Director of Marketing & Communications
PHONE: 254-710-6681

Established in 1857, Baylor Law was one of the first law schools in Texas and one of the first west of the Mississippi River. Today, the school has more than 7,600 living alumni. Accredited by the American Bar Association and a member of the Association of American Law Schools, Baylor Law has a record of producing outstanding lawyers, many of whom decide upon a career in public service. Baylor Law boasts among its notable alumni two governors, members or former members of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, two former directors of the FBI, U.S. ambassadors, federal judges, justices of the Texas Supreme Court, and members of the Texas Legislature. In its law specialties rankings, U.S. News & World Report ranked Baylor Law’s trial advocacy program as among the best in the nation at No. 2. The National Jurist ranks Baylor Law as one of the “Best School for Practical Training” and No. 4 in the nation in its most recent “Best Law School Facilities” listing. Business Insider places Baylor Law among the top 50 law schools in the nation. Baylor Law School received the 2015 American Bar Association Pro Bono Publico Award, making it only the third law school in the nation to be honored with the award since its inception in 1984. Learn more at

Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 17,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions. Learn more at

Are you looking for more News?