Baylor Law Announces Schools Selected to Compete in the 2023 The Closer Transactional Law Competition

December 5, 2022

Baylor Law Announces Schools Selected to Compete in the 2023 The Closer Transactional Law Competition


Baylor University School of Law announces the 14 law schools and student competitors that will participate in the seventh annual The Closer Transactional Law Competition in January 2023.

The Closer is an innovative, highly-selective competition with invitations extended to law schools whose programming demonstrates a commitment to excellence in practical transactional law training. At stake in the competition is the chance to win one of two $5,000 top prizes and bragging rights as a top closer. The annual competition, another example of Baylor Law's commitment to providing practical, real-world learning opportunities for law students, provides a high-pressure environment and hands-on exposure to one of the most critical aspects of transactional law: contract drafting and negotiation.

The competition will begin with the release of the competition problem on January 13, and the judged negotiation rounds will start on January 14. The final round will be held on the morning of January 15.

The students chosen by their respective law schools to participate in The Closer in 2023 are:

  • Brigham Young University J. Reuben Clark Law School – Blake Lawrence

  • Emory University School of Law – Evan Nelson

  • Indiana University Maurer School of Law – Jeremy Hsiao

  • The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law – Gregory Seymour

  • SMU Dedman School of Law – Christopher Monsivais

  • University of Denver Sturm College of Law – Ryann Connell

  • University of Houston Law Center – Will Cowan

  • University of Kansas School of Law – Toni Ruo

  • University of Mississippi School of Law – Blaze Jeffery

  • University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Law – Ryann Rigsby

  • University of Oregon School of Law – Gerardo Morales

  • University of San Diego School of Law – Jack Whitaker

  • University of Tennessee College of Law – Alyx Thompson

  • University of Wisconsin Law School – Abdulrahman A. Alroumi

The Closer is generously underwritten by the Kim and Bill Shaddock Fund for Business and Entrepreneurial Initiatives at Baylor Law and sponsored by Munsch Hardt and James Michael “Mike” Tibbals of Freeman Mills PC.

MEDIA CONTACT: Ed Nelson, Director of Marketing & Communications
PHONE: 254-710-6681

Established in 1857, Baylor University School of Law was one of the first law schools in Texas and one of the first west of the Mississippi River. Today, the school has more than 7,800 living alumni. It is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Baylor Law has a record of producing outstanding lawyers, many of whom decide upon a career in public service. The Law School boasts two governors, members or former members of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, two former directors of the FBI, U.S. ambassadors, federal judges, justices of the Texas Supreme Court and members of the Texas Legislature, among its notable alumni. In its law specialties rankings, U.S. News & World Report ranked Baylor Law’s trial advocacy program as one of the top 5 in the nation. Baylor Law is also ranked in the top 50 in the magazine’s 2019 edition of "America’s Best Graduate Schools." The National Jurist ranks Baylor Law as one of the "Best School for Practical Training," and in the top 15 "Best Law School Facilities" in the country. The Business Insider places Baylor Law among the top 50 law schools in the nation. Baylor Law received the 2015 American Bar Association Pro Bono Publico Award, making it only the third law school in the nation to be honored with the award since the award's inception in 1984. Learn more at

Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 17,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions. Learn more at

Are you looking for more News?