Baylor Law Professor Leah Teague Appears on EdUp Legal Podcast

October 8, 2021

Baylor Law Professor Leah Teague Appears on EdUp Legal Podcast

Ed Up Banner Episode 9


Baylor Law's Director of Business Law Programs and Leadership Development, Professor Leah Teague, was recently interviewed by Dean Patricia Roberts of St. Mary's Law School for the EdUp Legal Podcast. The duo discussed Professor Teague's work in creating a national movement of intentional leadership development in law schools.

Dean Roberts, who currently teaches a leadership course at St. Mary's Law, using the textbook, Fundamentals of Lawyer Leadership, co-authored by three Baylor Law professors, Teague, Elizabeth Fraley, and Stephen Rispoli, spoke with Prof. Teague about the book's approach to the training lawyers as leaders, and Teague’s work in promoting leadership development in legal education.

Dean Roberts and Prof. Teague share a commitment to preparing law students for their important roles as leaders in society. Prof. Teague sees the mission of values-based leadership development for law students as having four components:

  1. encourage law students and lawyers to embrace their obligation to serve clients and society,

  2. better equip law students for positions of leadership and influence,

  3. inspire law students to boldly seek opportunities to make a difference in their communities and the world, and

  4. reinforce principles of honor and integrity as the foundation for all decisions and action.

Prof. Teague created Baylor Law's Leadership Development Program in 2014, one of the first of its kind in an American law school. She was one of the driving forces behind the creation of the Section on Leadership of the American Association of Law Schools. She continues to promote the need for leadership development in law schools and blogs regularly at the Training Lawyers as Leaders blog.

The EdUp Legal Podcast is available on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify, and other podcast services. You can listen online directly at Anchor FM.

MEDIA CONTACT: Ed Nelson, Director of Marketing & Communications
PHONE: 254-710-6681

Established in 1857, Baylor University School of Law was one of the first law schools in Texas and one of the first west of the Mississippi River. Today, the school has more than 7,600 living alumni. It is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Baylor Law has a record of producing outstanding lawyers, many of whom decide upon a career in public service. The Law School boasts two governors, members or former members of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, two former directors of the FBI, U.S. ambassadors, federal judges, justices of the Texas Supreme Court and members of the Texas Legislature, among its notable alumni. In its law specialties rankings, U.S. News & World Report ranked Baylor Law’s trial advocacy program as one of the top 5 in the nation. Baylor Law is also ranked in the top 50 in the magazine’s 2019 edition of "America’s Best Graduate Schools." The National Jurist ranks Baylor Law as one of the "Best School for Practical Training," and in the top 15 "Best Law School Facilities" in the country. The Business Insider places Baylor Law among the top 50 law schools in the nation. Baylor Law received the 2015 American Bar Association Pro Bono Publico Award, making it only the third law school in the nation to be honored with the award since the award's inception in 1984. Learn more at

Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 17,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions. Learn more at

Are you looking for more News?