Dallas Bar Association and the Texas Center for Legal Ethics Honors Baylor Lawyer, Lewis R. Sifford, with Professionalism Award

October 22, 2020

Dallas Bar Association and the Texas Center for Legal Ethics Honors Baylor Lawyer, Lewis R. Sifford, with Professionalism Award

Lewis R. Sifford in action in a courtroom


Dallas attorney, and the 2019 Baylor Lawyer of the Year, Lewis R. Sifford, JD '72, has been named recipient of the 2020 Morris Harrell Professionalism Award. The award is presented annually by the Dallas Bar Association and the Texas Center for Legal Ethics to exceptional attorneys who, through their conduct and character, best exemplify professional traits that other attorneys admire and should strive to emulate.

Sifford's practice includes complex commercial litigation and catastrophic personal injury and death cases, in which he has represented both plaintiffs and defendants. He has tried hundreds of civil jury trials to verdict. He is Board Certified in Personal Injury Trial Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization and Board Certified as a Civil Trial Advocate and as a Civil Pretrial Practice Advocate by the National Board of Trial Advocacy. Mr. Sifford has served as an arbitration judge in complex securities cases and disputes involving pharmaceuticals and medical devices, and is an experienced mediator.

Sifford has received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA) and was named a “Texas Legal Legend” by the Dallas Bar Association in 2019. At Baylor Law, Lewis currently serves as a Jaworski Fellow and is past president of the Baylor Law Alumni Association as well as past national President of ABOTA.

"Lewis is one of the fiercest advocates I know for the advancement of our Seventh Amendment right to trial by jury. I am immeasurably proud of how, even in the most contentious of situations, Lewis consistently conducts himself with the utmost professionalism,” stated Baylor Law Dean Brad Toben. He added, “this honor by the Dallas Bar Association and the Texas Center for Legal Ethics is richly deserved.”

Upon receiving the award Sifford remarked, “Receiving the Morris Harrell Professionalism Award from the Dallas Bar Association and the Texas Center for Legal Ethics is just one more manifestation of my treasured education at Baylor Law School.” He added, “all of the concepts of ethics, civility and duty of our profession I learned at Baylor. There is hardly a day that passes without a sense of gratitude for all of the many blessings I have received in life. Of the greatest of those has been the continued presence in my life of you and all of the faculty and staff at Baylor Law.”

Baylor Law congratulates Lewis R. Sifford on another well-deserved recognition.

MEDIA CONTACT: Ed Nelson, Director of Marketing & Communications
EMAIL: Ed_Nelson@Baylor.edu
PHONE: 254-710-6681

Established in 1857, Baylor University School of Law was one of the first law schools in Texas and one of the first west of the Mississippi River. Accredited by the American Bar Association and a member of the Association of American Law Schools, Baylor Law has more than 7,600 living alumni and a record of producing outstanding lawyers, many of whom decide upon a career in public service. The Law School boasts among its notable alumni two governors, members or former members of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, two former directors of the FBI, U.S. ambassadors, federal judges, justices of the Texas Supreme Court and members of the Texas Legislature. In its law specialties rankings, U.S. News & World Report ranks Baylor Law’s trial advocacy program as among the best in the nation at No. 2, while the Law School is ranked in the Top 50 of the 2021 edition of “Best Graduate Schools.” The National Jurist ranks Baylor Law as one of the “Best School for Practical Training,” and in the top 15 “Best Law School Facilities” in the country. The Business Insider places Baylor Law among the top 50 law schools in the nation. Baylor Law received the 2015 American Bar Association Pro Bono Publico Award, making it only the third law school in the nation to be honored with the award since the award’s inception in 1984. Learn more at baylor.edu/law

Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 18,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 90 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions. Learn more at baylor.edu

Are you looking for more News?