The Paper Chase Legal Writing Competition Winners Announced

November 9, 2018

The Paper Chase Legal Writing Competition Winners Announced

Banner of the Paper Chase

WACO— November 9, 2018

Baylor Law is pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 The Paper Chase Legal Writing Competition, the premier legal writing contest in Texas, with $7,000 in cash prizes and state bragging rights up for grabs. According to the judges from the Texas Young Lawyer Association (TYLA), this year’s winner is Kamran Anwar of UNT Dallas College of Law. Second place was awarded to Darrick Monson of the University of Texas, and Aaron Diaz of St. Mary’s University School of Law took third place.

“When I saw my name in bold next to 1st place, I was honestly stunned. I am confident in my writing abilities, but to be selected over other hard-working students from across the state, including students from very reputable law schools, was truly a shock.” Stated Kamran Anwar, who added, “Like every second-year law student across the state, I have been working hard to refine my legal writing skills for the last year and half; to see that hard work pay off is an immense honor.”

This year’s competitors were challenged to prepare a Motion for Rehearing in the Texas Supreme Court of a denied Petition for Review. The complicated case involved an adverse court of appeals decision regarding a trial court ruling that struck Appellants’ pleadings and awarded damages for alleged discovery abuse. The underlying case involved a claim under the Texas Theft Liability Act. Participants from each of the nine non-Baylor law schools in Texas submitted entries.

The following are the top ten finishers in The Paper Chase Texas Legal Writing Competition 2018, according to the TYLA judges:

1st Place • Kamran Anwar • University of North Texas Dallas College of Law

2nd Place • Darrick Monson • University of Texas Law School

3rd Place • Aaron Diaz • St. Mary's University School of Law

Honorable mention • Brittney Thompson • University of North Texas Dallas College of Law

Honorable mention • Jonathan Slack • University of Texas Law School

6th Place • Tara Bush • University of North Texas Dallas College of Law

7th Place • Jacob Hugentobler • Texas A&M University School of Law

8th Place • Madison Hastings • South Texas College of Law Houston

9th Place • Leonard McDaniel • University of Houston Law Center

10th Place • Mia Romano • South Texas College of Law Houston

“Effective communication skills and the ability to persuade through well-structured legal writing are essential for lawyers, regardless of area or type of practice,” said Baylor Law Professor Scott Fraley who, with the help of several other Baylor Law Legal Writing faculty created The Paper Chase competition in 2017. “Baylor Law hosts this competition because we understand that, at the end of the day, capable lawyers are professional writers who must consistently write with clarity and persuasiveness, and even some good old-fashioned storytelling." Fraley added.

The Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA) and Baylor Law sponsor the competition. Baylor Law hosts and administers the competition while select TYLA members (who are practicing lawyers) are the sole judges of all entries. Students at all Texas law schools (except Baylor) are eligible to participate.

MEDIA CONTACT: Ed Nelson, Director of Marketing & Communications
PHONE: 254-710-6681

Established in 1857, Baylor Law School was one of the first law schools in Texas and one of the first west of the Mississippi River. Today, the school has more than 7,400 living alumni. It is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Baylor Law School has a record of producing outstanding lawyers, many of whom decide upon a career in public service. The Law School boasts two governors, members or former members of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, two former directors of the FBI, U.S. ambassadors, federal judges, justices of the Texas Supreme Court and members of the Texas Legislature, among its notable alumni. In its law specialties rankings, U.S. News & World Report ranked Baylor Law’s trial advocacy program as one of the top 5 in the nation. Baylor Law School is also ranked #50 in the magazine’s 2019 edition of "America’s Best Graduate Schools." The National Jurist ranks Baylor Law as one of the "Best School for Practical Training," and in the top 15 "Best Law School Facilities" in the country. The Business Insider places Baylor Law among the top 50 law schools in the nation. Baylor Law School received the 2015 American Bar Association Pro Bono Publico Award, making it only the third law school in the nation to be honored with the award since the award's inception in 1984. Learn more at

Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 17,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions. Learn more at

Are you looking for more News?