The Paper Chase Legal Writing Competition is Underway

October 15, 2018

The 2018 Paper Chase Legal Writing Competition is Underway


Baylor Law is pleased to announce The Paper Chase Legal Writing Competition for 2018. Formerly known as The Ultimate Writer, this competition is the premier legal writing contest in Texas. $7,000 in cash prizes are up for grabs along with bragging rights as the best legal writer at a Texas law school.

Open to students at any of the nine non-Baylor law schools in Texas, The Paper Chase Legal Writing Competition is a practice-oriented writing competition designed to test law students’ analytical and legal writing skills. The multi-stage tournament stands out for its significant cash prize awards and challenging real-world writing problem adapted from actual case files.

“The ability to analyze a set of facts and to effectively communicate and persuade through writing is an essential skill for lawyers, regardless of area or type of practice,” said Baylor Law Professor Scott Fraley who, with the help of several other Baylor Law Legal Writing faculty created The Paper Chase competition in 2017. “Baylor Law hosts this annual interscholastic competition to challenge and encourage the development of writing skills among our future Texas lawyers," Fraley added.

The Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA) and Baylor Law sponsor the competition. Baylor Law hosts and administers the competition while select TYLA members (who are practicing lawyers) are the sole judges of all entries. Students at all Texas law schools (except Baylor) are eligible to participate. Interested students should visit their school's Legal Writing department for more information.

The Paper Chase is now open and entries are due to the legal writing department at their schools by October 25th. The top three entries from each school will be forwarded to the Texas Young Lawyers Association. Competition winners will be announced on November 9th.

MEDIA CONTACT: Ed Nelson, Director of Marketing & Communications
PHONE: 254-710-6681

Established in 1857, Baylor Law School was one of the first law schools in Texas and one of the first west of the Mississippi River. Today, the school has more than 7,400 living alumni. It is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Baylor Law School has a record of producing outstanding lawyers, many of whom decide upon a career in public service. The Law School boasts two governors, members or former members of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, two former directors of the FBI, U.S. ambassadors, federal judges, justices of the Texas Supreme Court and members of the Texas Legislature, among its notable alumni. In its law specialties rankings, U.S. News & World Report ranked Baylor Law’s trial advocacy program as one of the top 5 in the nation. Baylor Law School is also ranked #50 in the magazine’s 2019 edition of "America’s Best Graduate Schools." The National Jurist ranks Baylor Law as one of the "Best School for Practical Training," and in the top 15 "Best Law School Facilities" in the country. The Business Insider places Baylor Law among the top 50 law schools in the nation. Baylor Law School received the 2015 American Bar Association Pro Bono Publico Award, making it only the third law school in the nation to be honored with the award since the award's inception in 1984. Learn more at

Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution. The University provides a vibrant campus community for more than 17,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions. Learn more at

Are you looking for more News?