Baylor Law Teams Excel at Multiple Competitions

February 28, 2018

Baylor Law Teams Excel at Multiple Competitions

Austin Law Meet Team Group Photo
Austin LawMeet Team (L-R) Reid McKinney, Brittany Blakey, Jami Carlisle, and Samantha Mori

WACO, Texas, February 2018 -

Baylor Law students score several strong showings in competitions held February 23-25.

Students from Baylor Law marked a series of impressive showings at several Moot Court and Transactional Law competitions over the weekend of February 23-25, 2018. The team of Josh Dunegan, Morgan Blair, and Price Brannen were named National Champions at the 2018 Pace National Environmental Law Moot Court Competition. (See article, here).

Group photo of Florida Law Meet team

Florida LawMeet team (L-R) Doni Maz, Macy Matthews, and Cassie Hansen

Two Baylor Law teams were runners-up in two separate regional Transactional LawMeets. The team of Cassie Hansen, Macy Matthews, and Doni Maz competed at the Southern Regional LawMeet held at Nova Southeastern University Shepard Broad College of Law. Brittany Blakey, Jami Carlisle, and Reid McKinney, competed at the Southwestern Regional LawMeet held at University of Texas School of Law. The teams were advised by adjunct faculty coaches Lotte Bostick, Trenton Hood, and James Howard. Student coach Samantha Mori also assisted the teams in preparing for the competition.

The teams began work on the competition when the case files were published in December, conferred with their ‘clients,' and drafted documents in January and February, and defeated four other teams to take second place at their respective LawMeets. James Howard- adjunct faculty member and transactional lawyer at Naman, Howell, Smith & Lee, PLLC in Austin- described the experience as “a work-intensive, but rewarding process for an extremely talented group of soon-to-be Baylor lawyers.” Professor Lotte Bostick, adjunct professor and former general counsel of First City Financial Corporation, added, “The students were asked to understand and negotiate a very complicated transaction, and through hard work, each student rose to the occasion. One of the judges stated, ‘you are way ahead of me when I graduated from law school– you have bright futures.’”

“The students were asked to understand and negotiate a very complicated transaction, and through hard work, each student rose to the occasion. One of the judges stated, ‘you are way ahead of me when I graduated from law school– you have bright futures.’” (Professor Lotte Bostick).
Kevin Miller and Leah Towe in action at bankruptcy moot court

Kevin Miller & Leah Towe at the Elliott Cup Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition

The two Baylor Law teams of Kevin Miller and Leah Towe, and Nicholas Shodrok and David Crampton competed in the Texas/Fifth Circuit Elliott Cup Regional Moot Court competition held in New Orleans, Louisiana. The Elliott Cup is sponsored by the Bankruptcy Section of the State Bar of Texas and is designed to serve as a formal practice before bankruptcy practitioners and bankruptcy judges for Fifth Circuit law school teams who will be competing at the Duberstein Moot Court Competition at St. John’s University School of Law in New York City in March.

The Baylor Law team of Kevin Miller and Leah Towe took third place at the Elliott Cup. In addition, Kevin Miller was designated ‘Best Speaker’ out of the over 25 students competing at the event. Coach Deborah Perry, a shareholder at Munsch Hardt Kopf & Harr, P.C., described the competition as rigorous, and a good example of the level of competition that will be encountered by the students at the Duberstein Moot Court Competition. Speaking of Baylor Law’s performance, Coach and Baylor Law Professor Larry Bates stated, “Our performance at Elliott was the first step in reclaiming the national championship we initially won in 2006."

MEDIA CONTACT: Ed Nelson, Director of Marketing & Communications
PHONE: 254-710-6681


Established in 1857, Baylor Law was one of the first law schools in Texas and one of the first west of the Mississippi River. Today, the school has more than 7,400 living alumni. It is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Baylor Law has a record of producing outstanding lawyers, many of whom decide upon a career in public service. The Law School boasts two governors, members or former members of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, two former directors of the FBI, U.S. ambassadors, federal judges, justices of the Texas Supreme Court and members of the Texas Legislature, among its notable alumni. In its law specialties rankings, U.S. News & World Report ranked Baylor Law's trial advocacy program as #3 in the nation. Baylor Law is also ranked #51 in the magazine's 2018 edition of "America's Best Graduate Schools." The National Jurist ranks Baylor Law as one of the "Best School for Practical Training," and #4 in the nation in its most recent "Best Law School Facilities" listing. The Business Insider places Baylor Law among the top 50 law schools in the nation. Baylor Law received the 2015 American Bar Association Pro Bono Publico Award, making it only the third law school in the nation to be honored with the award since the award's inception in 1984.


Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution, characterized as having "high research activity" by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The University provides a vibrant campus community for approximately 16,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions. Baylor sponsors 19 D1 varsity athletic teams and is a founding member of the Big XII Conference. Learn more at

Are you looking for more News?