Waco-McLennan County Young Lawyers Association Partnership with Baylor Law Receives TYLA Award

August 12, 2017

Waco-McLennan County Young Lawyers Association Partnership with Baylor Law Receives TYLA Award

WACO, Texas -

The Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA) awarded the Waco-McLennan County Young Lawyers Association first place in the Single Project Service to the Public category in recognition of the association's Pro Bono Challenge Program.

The Pro Bono Challenge is a parternship with Baylor Law and encourages all licensed attorneys practicing in McLennan County to meet the State Bar of Texas aspirational goal that each Texas attorney render at least 50 hours of legal services to the poor each year. WMCYLA's 2016 goal was 2,000 recorded pro bono hours. They achieved 2,450 recorded pro bono hours.

Baylor Law congratulates the WMCYLA and Board of Directors – all of whom are Baylor Lawyers!

2017-2018 Waco-McLennan County Young Lawyers Association Officers:

  • President: Matt Czimskey, JD '12
  • President-Elect: Stephen Rispoli, JD '12
  • Vice President: L.T. Beard, JD '12
  • Secretary: Jeanine Rispoli, JD '11
  • Treasurer: Kyle Knas, JD '12
  • Past President: Curtis Lucas, JD '10
2017-2018 WMCYLA Board of Directors:
  • Dominic Braus, JD '09
  • Rebecca Griffin, JD '08
  • Kimberly Lucas, JD '07
  • Marcus Mataga, JD '12
  • Chelsea Tijerina, JD '11
  • John Wiersgalla, JD '10

Please submit news of your service as an officer in any local or state bar organization to

CONTACT: Joshua Weaver, Marketing and Public Relations Specialist
PHONE: 254.710.6681

Established in 1857, Baylor Law School was one of the first law schools in Texas and one of the first west of the Mississippi River. Today, the school has more than 7,400 living alumni. It is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Baylor Law School has a record of producing outstanding lawyers, many of whom decide upon a career in public service. The Law School boasts two governors, members or former members of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, two former directors of the FBI, U.S. ambassadors, federal judges, justices of the Texas Supreme Court and members of the Texas Legislature, among its notable alumni. In its law specialties rankings, U.S. News & World Report ranked Baylor Law's trial advocacy program as #3 in the nation. Baylor Law School is also ranked #51 in the magazine's 2018 edition of "America's Best Graduate Schools." The National Jurist ranks Baylor Law as one of the "Best School for Practical Training," and #4 in the nation in its most recent "Best Law School Facilities" listing. The Business Insider places Baylor Law among the top 50 law schools in the nation. Baylor Law School received the 2015 American Bar Association Pro Bono Publico Award, making it only the third law school in the nation to be honored with the award since the award's inception in 1984.

Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution, characterized as having "high research activity" by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The University provides a vibrant campus community for approximately 16,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions. Baylor sponsors 19 D1 varsity athletic teams and is a founding member of the Big XII Conference. Learn more at

Are you looking for more News?