Allison Dickson, JD '07, Named 2017 Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year

June 3, 2017

Allison Dickson, JD '07, Named 2017 Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year

Banner photo of Allison Dickson, smiling toward the camera

WACO, Texas -

Allison Dickson, JD '07, has been named the 2017 Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year.

A Bold Journey of Faith and Perseverance

Allison Dickson's journey of faith, perseverance, and hard work has led her to be an exemplar on how to live life. "Allison's courage and tenacity inspires each of us in the Baylor Law family to always look beyond adversity to accomplish our goals," Dean Brad Toben said. "I am beyond proud of Allison for her accomplishments, and I am pleased to award her as the 2017 Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year. She richly deserves this high honor."

Allison and her mother posing for a photo
Allison Dickson and her mother Johnnie

Baylor Law School Dean Brad Toben, Dean Leah Teague, Professor Tom Featherston, Professor Jerry Powell, Professor Elizabeth Miller, Office Manager and Special Events Coordinator Meredith Meyer, Sr. Director of Development Susan Wommack, and Director of Alumni Relations Berkley Knas surprised Dickson with the 2017 Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year award on May 23 at her home in Temple, Texas. Anne Potts Jackson, president of the Baylor Law Alumni Association, presented Dickson with a plaque on behalf of the Executive Committee of the Association. Dickson and her mother, Johnnie (who had been in on the surprise) shed tears of joy and excitement as Dickson was completely surprised by the honor. Dickson gives much credit to her mother and late father, Joe, who are the epitome of parental love, sacrifice, and devotion.

Dickson lives life to the fullest saying, "it's not the destination, it's the journey." When she was 15 months old, she was diagnosed with Werdnig-Hoffman disease, a type of spinal muscle atrophy, and was given one year to live. Twenty-seven years later, Dickson graduated third in her class from Temple High School, summa cum laude from Southwestern University, and number one in her class from Baylor Law School!

Turning a Dream into a Reality

Dean Toben leans in to draw Allison's attention to her award
Dean Toben and Allison Dickson look over the 2017 Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year plaque.

"If you have not met Allison, after meeting her your life will never be the same," classmate Ethan Lange, JD '07, said. "Her sparkplug spirit is contagious, and her never-give-up attitude will force you to reevaluate the things in life we may grumble about without thinking."

Allison's license plate and award plaque sit side-by-side

One of Dickson's dreams has been to leave her legacy at Baylor Law School through an endowed scholarship. In order to do so, she needed to raise $50,000 within five years. Dickson's tenacity prevailed, once again, and she raised over $50,000 in less than nine months. The Allison Dickson Baylor Law Endowed Scholarship Fund was established in 2016.

Baylor Law congratulates Allison Dickson for being named the 2017 Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year. Dickson, the valedictorian of her Baylor Law class and 2017 Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year, has made a significant impact on Baylor Law School and the Baylor Law family.

Allison and her family and friends gather to celebrate her award
Alumni Relations Director Berkley Knas, Professor Beth Miller, Professor Tom Featherston, Professor Jerry Powell, Dean Brad Toben, Office Manager and Special Events Coordinator Meredith Meyer, Sr. Director of Development Susan Wommack, and Dean Leah Teague visit the 2017 Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year Allison Dickson and her mother Johnnie inside their Temple, Texas home.

Open Photo Slideshow

About the Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year Award

The Baylor Young Lawyer of the Year Award is given annually to an outstanding alumnus/a who has brought honor and distinction to the Law School and to the legal profession. The recipient must not reach age 41 before Jan. 1 of the award year. Recipients are selected based upon the following criteria:

  1. The nominee's legal ability and achievements as a lawyer;
  2. The nominee's contributions to the legal profession;
  3. The nominee's standing in the profession;
  4. The nominee's Christian character;
  5. The nominee's civic, religious and other attainments; and
  6. The nominee's active interest in Baylor Law School.

Past Recipients

2016 - Ryan Squires
2015 - Matthew C. Matheny
2014 - Libby King
2013 - Robert Little
2012 - Vincent Allen
2011 - Shannon Sedgwick Davis
2009 - Keith Langston
2008 - Bryan Hughes
2007 - Christopher Martin
2006 - Bryan Blevins
2005 - Greg Jackson
2004 - JoAl Cannon Sheridan
2003 - Julie Springer
2002 - Amos Mazzant
2001 - Jim Dunnam
2000 - Craig Eiland
1999 - John Meredith
1998 - Dan Malone
1997 - Bill Jones
1996 - Kirk Watson
1995 - Priscilla Owen

To Nominate a Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year:

Baylor Law School will accept nominations for the 2018 Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year through December 1, 2017. The Executive Committee of the Baylor Law Alumni Association will review a resume and the first three letters received for each nominee.

To submit a nomination for the 2018 Young Baylor Lawyer of the Year, please send a nomination letter describing why the nominee meets the below criteria to:

Dean Brad Toben
Baylor Law School
One Bear Place #97288
Waco, Texas 76798

WRITTEN BY: Berkley Knas, Alumni Relations
PHOTOS BY: Nick Teixeira, Baylor Law School

Established in 1857, Baylor Law School was one of the first law schools in Texas and one of the first west of the Mississippi River. Today, the school has more than 7,400 living alumni. It is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Baylor Law School has a record of producing outstanding lawyers, many of whom decide upon a career in public service. The Law School boasts two governors, members or former members of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, two former directors of the FBI, U.S. ambassadors, federal judges, justices of the Texas Supreme Court and members of the Texas Legislature, among its notable alumni. In its law specialties rankings, U.S. News & World Report ranked Baylor Law's trial advocacy program as #3 in the nation. Baylor Law School is also ranked #51 in the magazine's 2018 edition of "America's Best Graduate Schools." The National Jurist ranks Baylor Law as one of the "Best School for Practical Training," and #4 in the nation in its most recent "Best Law School Facilities" listing. The Business Insider places Baylor Law among the top 50 law schools in the nation. Baylor Law School received the 2015 American Bar Association Pro Bono Publico Award, making it only the third law school in the nation to be honored with the award since the award's inception in 1984.

Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution, characterized as having "high research activity" by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The University provides a vibrant campus community for approximately 16,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions. Baylor sponsors 19 D1 varsity athletic teams and is a founding member of the Big XII Conference. Learn more at

Are you looking for more News?