Baylor Lawyers Receive Award on Behalf of the Waco-McLennan County Young Lawyers Association

August 5, 2016

Baylor Lawyers Receive Award on Behalf of the Waco-McLennan County Young Lawyers Association

Josh Borderud and Matt Csimskey pass the role of President for YLA
Immediate Past President Josh Borderud (second from left) and President-Elect Matt Czimskey (far right) accept the Deborah G. Hankinson Access to Justice Award for Young Lawyers Affiliate on behalf of MCYLA. Presenting the award are State Bar of Texas President Frank Stevenson (second from right) and President-Elect Tom Vick.

WACO, Texas -

On behalf of the Waco-McLennan County Young Lawyers Association, immediate Past President Josh Borderud, JD ’09, and President-Elect Matt Czimskey, JD ’12, accepted the Deborah G. Hankinson Access to Justice Award for Young Lawyers Affiliate at the State Bar of Texas Leaders Conference in Houston on July 16.

State Bar of Texas President, Frank Stevenson, and President-Elect, Tom Vick, presented the award. The award honors local bar associations and young lawyer affiliates that demonstrate a commitment to access to justice in their communities and to raising financial support for legal-service providers on a local and statewide basis.

CONTACT: Berkley Knas

Established in 1857, Baylor Law School was one of the first law schools in Texas and one of the first west of the Mississippi River. Today, the school has more than 7,400 living alumni. It is accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Baylor Law School has a record of producing outstanding lawyers, many of whom decide upon a career in public service. The Law School boasts two governors, members or former members of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, two former directors of the FBI, U.S. ambassadors, federal judges, justices of the Texas Supreme Court and members of the Texas Legislature, among its notable alumni. In its law specialties rankings, U.S. News & World Report ranked Baylor Law’s trial advocacy program as #4 in the nation. Baylor Law School is also ranked #55 in the magazine’s 2017 edition of "America’s Best Graduate Schools." The National Jurist ranks Baylor Law as one of the "Best School for Practical Training," and #4 in the nation in its most recent "Best Law School Facilities" listing. The Business Insider places Baylor Law among the top 50 law schools in the nation. Baylor Law School received the 2015 American Bar Association Pro Bono Publico Award, making it only the third law school in the nation to be honored with the award since the award's inception in 1984.

Baylor University is a private Christian University and a nationally ranked research institution, characterized as having "high research activity" by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The University provides a vibrant campus community for approximately 16,000 students by blending interdisciplinary research with an international reputation for educational excellence and a faculty commitment to teaching and scholarship. Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor is the oldest continually operating University in Texas. Located in Waco, Baylor welcomes students from all 50 states and more than 80 countries to study a broad range of degrees among its 12 nationally recognized academic divisions. Baylor sponsors 19 D1 varsity athletic teams and is a founding member of the Big XII Conference. Learn more at

Are you looking for more News?