Professor Elizabeth Miller Wins Prestigious American Bar Association Award

July 1, 2013

Baylor Law School Professor Elizabeth "Beth" Miller has been chosen to receive the 2013 Martin I. Lubaroff Award.

The Committee on LLCs, Partnership and Unincorporated Entities, Section of Business Law of the American Bar Association awards the Martin I. Lubaroff annually. Miller received the award in recognition of her leadership, scholarship, and outstanding service to the law of LLCs, partnerships, and unincorporated business entities.

Miller is a former chair of the Committee and is an authority in Texas and nationwide on the law of business organizations. Miller will be presented with her award on Oct. 17, in Washington, D.C.

"Baylor Law School takes pride in a faculty who are not only scholars, but also practicing attorneys who contribute meaningfully to the evolution of the law," Baylor Law School Dean Brad Toben said. "Rarely is there a business organizations statute passed by the Texas Legislature that does not have Professor Miller's imprint on it. She has been involved in the drafting of legislation affecting Texas business organizations for many years. In recent years, she was instrumental in the coordination and drafting of the Texas Business Organizations Code. This statute, which became effective in 2006, is several hundred pages in length and reorganized and modernized the corporate and other business entity statutes in Texas."

The Martin I. Lubaroff Award was established in 2001 to honor the memory of Marty Lubaroff, who passed away on Jan. 1, 2001. Lubaroff was a good friend and mentor to scores of lawyers in Delaware and throughout the United States. He was a longtime member of, and key participant in, the LLCs, Partnerships and Unincorporated Entities Committee of the ABA. He was chair the Limited Partnerships Subcommittee at the time of his death.

Miller is a nationally recognized expert in her fields, and lawyers nationwide rely on the case law updates she prepares for American Bar Association publications and programs. She frequently speaks on topics involving corporate, partnership, and limited liability company law at continuing legal education programs.

In 2011, Miller received the Jean Allard Glass Cutter Award from the American Bar Association Business Law Section.

Miller has been involved in the drafting of legislation affecting Texas business organizations for many years, and has served in an advisory or membership capacity on the drafting committees for numerous prototype, model, and uniform statutes and agreements relating to unincorporated business organizations. She has held leadership positions in the Business Law Section of the State Bar of Texas, as well as the American Bar Association Business Law Section. Miller is an elected member of the American Law Institute, the American Bar Foundation, and the Texas Bar Foundation.

She received her JD with highest honors from Baylor Law School in 1985, and was first in her graduating class. Upon graduation, she received the highest score on the State of Texas July 1985 bar examination. Miller was in private practice for six years before she returned to Baylor Law School to join the faculty in 1991. While in practice, she represented banks and bank holding companies, as well as other privately and publicly held companies in a variety of matters, including formations, reorganizations, and acquisitions.

Are you looking for more News?