Baylor Law School Spring Immigration Clinic Helped 40 Area Residents

April 22, 2013

Baylor Law School had another successful DACA (Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals) Immigration Clinic during the Spring 2013 quarter. Twenty-eight Baylor Law students volunteered to assist approximately 40 Waco-area residents with their applications.

The DACA application required the completion of three U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) forms, as well as the submission of supporting documentation to show identity, presence, and education. Baylor Law students interviewed the applicants, completed the forms, and correlated the evidence to meet USCIS requirements.

Baylor Law School Associate Professor Laura A. Hernández and Adjunct Professor Susan I. Nelson headed the Spring 2013 quarter DACA Immigration Clinic. The following people helped to make the Spring DACA Clinic a success:

Clinic Coordinators: Rekha Akella and Kristen McDonald.

Baylor Law Student Volunteers: Ana Sanchez, Brad Coplen, Kristin Oca, Nathan Weinert, Erica Eslinger, Garret Hicks, Caroline Kirk, Matt Myers, Nkemjika Okafor, Jay Plater-Zyburk, Aimee Raimer, Amber Shanafelt, Jennifer Smith, Jason Sorenson, Bri Turner, Jessica Vittorio, Kyle Voss, Jessy Marquez, Allen Wilson, Sara Kincaid, Julianne Nguyen, Sam Kessler, Lindsey Lehrmann, Siobhan Ray, Jen Pfanzelt, Phil Segura, Julianne Nguyen, and Anali Gatlin.

Baylor Law IT Department: Rick Sowell, Ricky Lovecky, and Nathaniel Jones.

Baylor University Undergraduate Volunteers:

  • Spanish Department: Alicia Cardenas, Nanjing Gao, Lyzette Garza, Garrett McMillan, Angelica Rodriguez, Brittany Santibanez, Olga Tobias, and Shane Young;
  • School of Social Work: Kayla Carpenter and Naedean Herrera;
  • Baylor Democrats: Alistair Jones, Adaobi Ekweani, and Dylan Lopez;
  • Baylor LULAC: Cristina Vega and Sonia Sandoval;
  • Baylor Hispanic Student Association: Eva Diaz;
  • Phi Iota Alpha: Jose Ortiz-Vitali
Are you looking for more News?