Students Honored at Awards Ceremony

April 12, 2013

Dozens of Baylor Law School students were honored during the John William & Florence Dean Minton Student Awards Ceremony on April 11.

Former Texas State Sen. David Sibley addressed the almost 200 students, faculty, alumni and guests who attended the ceremony at the Waco Palladium.

The awards are named in honor of John William Minton and Florence Dean Minton. Their daughter, the late Polly Minton McLeRoy of Sherman, Texas, established and endowed a lecture series in 1993 to honor her parents. More recently, McLeRoy's son, William McLeRoy, endorsed the concept of a student awards ceremony to honor the memory of his grandparents and their lives' work, and at which Baylor Law students would be addressed by a notable, inspiring speaker in celebration of their academic and advocacy achievements.

Awards and recognitions were given in the categories of academics, advocacy, Baylor Law Review, and public interest and community service.

Click here for a complete list of honorees.

Are you looking for more News?