Baylor Law School Students Shine In Competition

October 31, 2012
WACO, Texas (Oct. 30, 2012) -- Baylor Law School continues to demonstrate why it has one of the top advocacy programs in the nation with impressive performances in a string of competitions around the country this past weekend.
Baylor Law students Leah Maxwell, Stephen Netherton, David Shaw and Blayne Thompson won the National Institute for Trial Advocacy 2012 Tournament of Champions. Netherton also won the award for Best Advocate and the team won the Team Professionalism Award. The NITA Tournament of Champions took place Oct. 24-28 and was hosted by IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law. The event was co-sponsored by LexisNexis. The Baylor Law team won out over competitors from the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law, University of California, Berkeley School of Law, St. John's University School of Law, Northwestern University School of Law, Pepperdine University School of Law and Stanford Law School, among others.
"What a fantastic victory for Baylor Law. To succeed in the company of an invited lineup of the most successful and high-profile mock trial competitors in the nation is amazing," said Baylor Law School Dean Brad Toben. "It's important to remember that all of the Baylor Law students who take part in these competitions do so while taking a full load of courses, which often includes our rigorous Practice Court Program. These students have the talent, work ethic, drive and integrity that continues to confer great honor upon Baylor Law School."
The team of Claire Carroll and Jen Pfanzelt won the Mack Kidd Administrative Law Moot Court Competition Oct. 28 in Austin. Pfanzelt was recognized as the Best Oralist and Marcy Allen was named Third Best Oralist. Allen competed with her partner Katie Beaird. The other Baylor team was Anna Kalinina and David Hammack. The win marked the seventh consecutive year Baylor Law School has taken the top prize at the Mack Kidd Administrative Law Moot Court Competition.
The Information and Technology Law Moot Court Team of Chase Gomillion and Mary Green advanced to the semifinals of the John Marshall Law School International Competition in Information Technology and Privacy Law Oct. 27-28 in Chicago. Green was named Best Oralist.
The team of Colin Powell and Emily Seale won Third Best Respondent Brief at the National Criminal Procedure Moot Court Competition in San Diego, Oct. 27-28. The team of John Busch and Emily Cottingham also represented Baylor.
Baylor Law School faculty and adjunct faculty members coach all the teams.
Are you looking for more News?