R. Matt Dawson Lecture Series

R. Matt Dawson Lecture Series

R. Matt Dawson Lecture Series Banner

Friday, January 29, 2021
11:30 AM CST


About the R. Matt Dawson Endowed Lecture Series

The R. Matt Dawson Endowed Lecture Series was established to host the finest legal minds and practitioners possible at Baylor Law, providing special learning opportunities for Baylor Law students and stimulating visits by colleagues and experts for Baylor Law faculty members.

The series was established in 1995 by Joseph D. Jamail and W. James Kronzer to honor the esteemed trial lawyer and law professor emeritus who has rendered outstanding service to the legal profession and to Baylor Law

About R. Matt "Mad Dog" Dawson (1916-2015)

Professor Dawson received his B.A. and L.L.B. degrees from Baylor University in 1938. He interrupted a very successful law career in 1971 when he received a call from Baylor Law to replace the late Judge Frank Wilson in teaching Practice Court, the bedrock course of Baylor Law's nationally renowned advocacy program. He fulfilled this assignment with honor and distinction until his retirement from the faculty in 1983. His expertise as a trial lawyer and teacher earned Baylor Law countless accolades from the legal profession for the excellence of its advocacy program.

Professor Dawson was a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers and the Supreme Court Advisory Committee. Through the years, Professor Dawson has worked both with, and against, Mr. Jamail and Mr. Kronzer on a variety of legal matters.

Baylor has been a way of life for Professor Dawson since he was a child. Professor Dawson's father was Dr. J.M. Dawson, pastor of Waco's First Baptist Church for 32 years, and his mother was Willy Turner Dawson, for whom Baylor's Dawson Residence Hall was named. Professor Dawson's family has been awarded the "First Family of Baylor Award."

Professor Dawson and his wife Princess Louise ("P.L.") were loyal and generous supporters of Baylor Law and Baylor University. Professor and Mrs. Dawson have established several endowed scholarships and have established a trust fund to provide annual awards for excellence in moot court competitions.