Student Awards

Baylor Law's dedication to service and the pro bono work of many Baylor Law students as been recognized through the reception of various pro bono and community service based awards.

Baylor Law Veterans Clinic “Boots on the Ground” Award

An annual award of $250, shared by the students who have made the most significant contributions to the Veterans Clinic program. Given by Professor Bridget Fuselier and her husband Paul. 

Past Recipients

2018 - Kyle J. Dennis
2017 - Katherine Grace Broussard & Javier E. Cabanillas

Bill Kimble Service Award

The Bill Kimble Service Award is given annually to two students who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to community service. This award is made possible by an annual gift from Josh & Jennifer Borderud in honor of Bill Kimble, a Baylor Law graduate who has dedicated his life to providing legal services for the poor. The award is given to the two students who, by the annual convocation, have accumulated the most hours in the Pro Bono and Public Service program.

Past Recipients

2018 - Tychanika "Tycha" J. Kimbrough & Hailee B. Zeichner
2017 - Emilia G. “Gracie” Wood
2016 - Amanda R. Sanchez
2015 - Jessica S. Freud & Ashley Nicole Morgan
2014 - Amber R. Shanafelt & Skylar Renae Simons
2013 - Siobhan Ray & Amanda Sherek
2012 - Huma Patel
2011 - Tope Tokan-Lawal & Jessica Edwards
2010 - Shamaila Malik & Tope Tokan-Lawal
2009 - Berkley Scroggins Knas & Patricia Dixon
2008 - Abigail Toth & Justin Schneider

For more information about Bill Kimble, see page 603 of this Texas Bar Journal article.

BARBRI Public Servant Award

An annual award of a BARBRI Bar Review course, valued at approximately $2,500, to the student who has completed the most community service and pro bono hours through the Pro Bono and Public Service Program during his or her first year at Baylor Law. Given by BARBRI Bar Review.

2018 - Morgan K. Blair

Past Recipients of the Kaplan Public Service Award

2017 - Kurt D. Metscher & Hailee B. Zeichner
2016 - Emilia G. “Gracie” Wood
2015 - Kelly N. Depew
2014 - Gavin M. Lane
2013 - Bethany Rumford
2012 - Alaina Smith
2011 - Rachel Bickerstaff
2010 - Tope Tokan-Lawal