Advocacy Faculty

Advocacy Faculty

Throughout its 160-year history, Baylor Law has placed a premium on the credibility that comes from its professors having practiced what they teach, many honing their craft in the very courtrooms their students will one day enter. Members of the Advocacy faculty are accomplished scholars and skilled practitioners, with significant experience in full-time practice before joining Baylor Law.

Many are nationally recognized leaders in their fields. Many advise legislative councils, serve as expert witnesses and mentor practicing attorneys. Others have distinguished themselves as federal prosecutors, as sitting judges, or as advocates before the Supreme Court of the United States. All remain on the front lines, practicing what they teach, consulting and engaging with developments in the law as they unfold in real time.

As students progress through the program, they will come to know their professors not just as lecturers, but as coaches and advisors. Faculty members spend as many hours in the classroom and in observing exercises as do the students. Feedback is one-on-one. Office doors remain open. And the Practice Court and Interscholastic Competition experiences allow students in-depth access to mentorship that transcends the norm at traditional law schools.

Appellate Advocacy Faculty

Larry Bates
Bridget Fuselier
Laura Hernández
Luke Meier
Connie Powell Nichols
Rory Ryan
Brian Serr
James Underwood
Patricia Wilson

Practice Court Faculty

Chair: Gerald Powell
Jeremy Counseller
Elizabeth M. Fraley
James Wren

Client Counseling Advocacy

Patricia Wilson

Legal Writing Advocacy

Director: Matt Cordon
Mike Berry
Susan Kelley-Claybrook Ortiz
Greg White

Advocacy Program Coordinator

Kathy Serr


“Baylor Law students receive superb advocacy training from some of the best trial lawyers in the nation.”

—Wayne Fisher
Former President of the International Academy of Trial Lawyers