Baylor Law
Baylor Lawyers.
Ready to practice. Prepared to lead.

Since long before law schools across the country adopted the term “practice-ready,” Baylor Law’s rigorous program has equipped students with the problem-solving techniques, and practical, hands-on lawyering skills and character development necessary for success in the workplace and in life.

Centrally located in Waco, Texas, in a beautiful facility on the banks of the Brazos River, Baylor Law is by choice one of the smallest law schools in the nation. Since 1857, Baylor Law combines theory with practice throughout the curriculum and cultivates a commitment to service and responsibility in the community.

Our unwavering dedication to professional excellence propels Baylor Lawyers to success in courtrooms, boardrooms, and communities all over the world.

A leading voice in the national conversation for legal education, Baylor Law continues to set the pace as one of the premiere teaching law schools for future practitioners. Check out the latest headlines highlighting Baylor Law, its alumni, faculty, staff, and students.

Gloria Jones of The University of Texas School of Law Wins The 2022 Edition of The Paper Chase Legal Writing Competition Jan. 26, 2023 On Thursday, January 26, Baylor Law announced the winners of the 2022 The Paper Chase Legal Writing Competition, Texas’s premier legal writing contest. According to the Judges from the Texas Young Lawyer Association (TYLA), this year’s winner is Gloria Jones of the University of Texas School of Law. Second Place was awarded to Colin Hickl of SMU Dedman School of Law, and Jacob C. Swanson of SMU Dedman School of Law took Third Place. The high-stakes legal writing competition stands out for its challenging real-world writing prompt and a significant cash prize award of $5,000 for first-place winner Gloria Jones and $7,000 in total prizes. Winners Announced in the 2023 Edition of The Closer, Baylor Law’s Elite National Transactional Law Competition Jan. 18, 2023 Ryann Connell of the University of Denver Sturm College of Law and Will Cowan of the University of Houston Law Center are this year’s winners of The Closer, the nation’s most challenging transactional law competition. The runners-up in this year’s demanding competition were Alyx Thompson of the University of Tennessee College of Law and Evan Nelson of Emory University School of Law. AALS Honors Dean Stephen Rispoli with Major Pro Bono Award Jan. 13, 2023 Assistant Dean of Student Affairs and Strategic Initiatives Stephen Rispoli has been named the 2023 Access to Justice Award recipient by the Association of American Law Schools. US Senate Confirms Cindy Dyer, JD ’93, as Director of the Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking Jan. 10, 2023 The US Senate has confirmed Cindy Dyer, JD ’93, to become the next Director of the Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons (J/TIP), with the rank of Ambassador. Dyer’s appointment by President Biden earlier this year was confirmed by a unanimous bipartisan vote of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee.

Highlighted Events