The Faegre Drinker Spring Moot Court Competition

The Faegre Drinker Spring Moot Court Competition

Banner for Faegre Drinker Moot Court Comptition

All Baylor Law students are required to participate in one of two Harvey M. Richey Moot Court Society internal moot court competitions at the end of their first year. The Faegre Drinker Spring Moot Court Competition is one of these two.

Each moot court team, consisting of two competitors, completes four preliminary rounds of oral argument. The top teams then move into post-break rounds and are awarded the distinction of barrister. Barristers, Baylor Law faculty members, lawyers, and judges serve as judges for the competition. Monetary prizes are awarded to the 1st place, 2nd place, and semi-finalist teams, the best LARC 3 team, and the top speaker.

The Faegre Drinker Spring Moot Court Competition is generously sponsored by the law firm Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP in recognition of its support of Baylor Law’s moot court program. The Law School administration, faculty, and students are very grateful for the support of the firm.

2021 Competition Details:

All dates are subject to change. The Moot Court Officers will send notice to the competitors of any future changes by email. *Baylor Law students please see your LARC 3 syllabus for the due dates for the briefs.

February 5 – Problem packet posted on Canvas for LARC 3 competitors

February 15 – All non-LARC 3 competitors must submit partners’ names by 5:00pm

February 26 – Practice Round (All Competitors on Brief)

March 1 – Preliminary Round 1 (All Competitors on Brief)

March 2 – Preliminary Round 2 (All Competitors off Brief)

March 3 – Preliminary Round 3 (Power Matched)

March 4 – Preliminary Round 4 (Power Matched)

March 5 – Break Announced

March 8 – 12 – Spring Break

March 15 - 18 - (TBD based on the number of break teams) – Post-Break Rounds

March 22 – Final Round. Oral advocacy awards will be announced after the round is over.

For questions, please contact Alexis Norwood, current president of the Harvey M. Richey Moot Court Society, at, or Professor Michael Berry at