May - June 2022

Alumni Notes are published based on the information we receive from our alumni. If you have been recognized or have other professional news to share, please e-mail, for inclusion in the next issue of Rocket Docket.

Dick P. Wood Jr., JD ’65

Dick P. Wood Jr., has served as the prosecutor for the City of University Park for 55 years. His father, Dick P. Wood Sr., JD ’33, was the City Attorney for the City of University Park for 37 years.

John D. Sloan, JD ’80

John D. Sloan, with Sloan, Hatcher, Perry, Runge, Robertson, Smith & Jones in Longview, was elected to the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors.

J. Cary Gray, JD ’83

J. Cary Gray will transition from Managing Partner to Chairman of Gray Reed in January 2023. Gary has served as the firm’s Managing Partner since 2006. Under his leadership, the firm has doubled in size, expanded to Waco, and built an operational structure to maximize efficiency and profitability.

Alan Vickery, JD ’86

Alan Vickery has joined Bowman and Brooke LLP as partner in their new Plano, Texas, office. Alan brings 25 years of experience navigating the large pharmaceutical and medical device field. He has been awarded the Life Sciences Star for 2012-2021 and Leading Life Sciences Lawyer for 2021-2022 by LMG Life Sciences and the Litigation Star for 2016-2021 by Benchmark Litigation.

Glenn Callison, JD ’88

Glenn Callison, with Munsch Hardt, was individually recognized by Chambers USA 2022 in the practice of Real Estate. .

John Meredith, JD ’88

John Meredith, Chief Operating Officer with Chamberlain Hrdlicka in Houston, was named one of the top 50 chief operating officers (COO) nationwide during the 2022 OnCon Icon Awards held on May 12, 2022. Award winners were selected by their peers in the COO community. Voters selected COOs they felt demonstrated a good mix of success and positive impact on their organization and/or previous organizations and made strong contributions to the COO community through thought leadership, innovation, and leadership.

Lisa L. Havens, JD ’93

Lisa L. Havens has been named chief legal officer of Baylor Scott & White Health.

Katie Smith Anderson, JD ’94

Katie Smith Anderson was recently selected to serve as the Deputy Member in Charge for Clark Hill’s Dallas office.

Tracy Norton, JD ’94

Tracy Norton will join the Louisiana State University Law faculty this fall teaching Legal Research & Writing. She has been teaching at Touro Law Center in Long Island, New York, since 2007.

Erik Walker, JD ’94

Erik Walker is now with Thomas J. Henry Law’s Austin office practicing in Personal Injury and Premises/Product Liability.

Cindy V. Tisdale, JD ’95

Cindy V. Tisdale, with the Law Office of Cindy V. Tisdale in Granbury and Of Counsel to Lynch, Chappell & Alsup in Midland, was elected State Bar of Texas President-Elect and was sworn in during the Board of Directors meeting on June 9. Cindy is board certified in family law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. She served as 2013-2014 chair of the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors. She also served as chair of the Texas Bar Foundation from 2017 to 2018 and chair of the State Bar Family Law Section from 2017 to 2018. She is a member of the American Board of Trial Advocates, a fellow in the American Academy of Family Law Specialists, a fellow in the International Academy of Family Law Specialists, a member of the Texas Bar College, and a member of the Pro Bono College of the State Bar of Texas.

Craig Cherry, JD ’99

Craig Cherry, with Steckler, Wayne, Cochran, Cherry PLLC in Waco, was elected to the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors.

Marissa M. Allen, JD ’03

Marissa M. Allen, with Martin Walker PC, earned a place on Lawdragon’s list of 500 Leading Plaintiff Consumer Lawyers for 2022. She earned the recognition for her work in personal injury and civil appellate law for which she was board certified in 2011.

Brannon Dillard, JD ’03

Brannon Dillard recently joined Shackelford, Bowen, McKinley & Norton, LLP as a partner in the firm’s Houston office.

Michael Blue, JD ’05

Michael Blue serves as President and General Counsel of the Ron Blue Institute. He is co-author of the book, Master Your Money: A Step-by-Step Plan for Experiencing Financial Contentment.

Lawrence Morales II, JD ’05

Lawrence Morales II, with the Morales Firm PC in San Antonio, was elected to the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors.

Brittani W. Rollen, JD ’05

Brittani W. Rollen has joined the Trial and Appellate Litigation practice of Jackson Walker as senior counsel in their Fort Worth office. Brittani was named among Thomson Reuters’ Super Lawyers as a Texas Super Lawyer (2019-2021) and a Top Woman Attorney in Texas (2020). She has also been recognized among the 2021 “Top Attorneys” lists for appellate law in Fort Worth Magazine and 360 West Magazine.

Chris Drymalla, JD ’06

Chris Drymalla has joined Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LP in Austin as partner in the firm's intellectual property practice.

Travis J. Odom, JD ’06

Travis J. Odom has joined Duane Morris LLP as a partner in the firm’s Employment, Labor, Benefits and Immigration Practice Group in Houston.

Alison Ashmore, JD ’07

Alison Ashmore, of Dykema Gossett PLLC, earned a spot among the commercial litigators under age 40 honored by Law360 as Rising Stars.

Kenneth “Tray” P. Gober III, JD ’08

Kenneth “Tray” P. Gober III was recently named managing partner at Austin-based Lee, Gober & Reyna.

Katie Filmore, JD ’09

Katie Filmore, special counsel with Duane Morris in Austin, was appointed by the State Bar of Texas to serve as the Texas Young Lawyers Association Liaison to the Texas Access to Justice Commission. Katie currently serves as director of District 8 for the Texas Young Lawyers Association.

Hon. Lauren Renee Sepulveda, JD ’11

Hon. Lauren Renee Sepulveda, Municipal Court Judge for the City of McAllen, was elected to membership in the Fellows of the Texas Bar Foundation. She will also serve as chairwoman of the 2022-2023 Board of Directors of the Texas Young Lawyers Association.

Andrea Broyles, JD ’12

Andrea Broyles was promoted to senior counsel at Bracewell in Dallas. She focuses on complex commercial litigation, government investigations, and internal investigations.

Anneke Cronje, JD ’13

Anneke Cronje, with Winstead PC in Fort Worth, has been promoted to Of Counsel.

Lauren McDonald, JD ’13

Lauren McDonald is working as Senior Counsel (Employment) for Tenet Healthcare Corporation in Dallas.

Andrea M. Palmer, JD ’13,

Andrea M. Palmer, VP of Legal & Compliance with Higginbotham Insurance Agency, Inc., was recently named to serve on the Executive Board of Directors for Big Brothers Big Sisters Lone Star. Andrea has served as a Big Sister/Mentor for the past three years. She was also named “Outstanding Young Lawyer of the Year” by the Tarrant County Young Lawyers Association.

Kyle Beckrich, JD ’17

Kyle Beckrich was selected to receive the John Marshall Award for Exceptional Work to Defend Challenges to the President’s 2018 Invocation of Section 232. The John Marshall Awards are the Department of Justice’s highest awards offered to attorneys for contributions and excellence in specialized areas of legal performance.

Tara LeDay, JD ’17

Tara LeDay joined the Houston office of Chamberlain Hrdlicka’s bankruptcy, restructuring and creditor rights practice.

Ali Mosser, JD ’19

Ali Mosser has joined the Fort Worth office of Cantey Hanger.

Andrew Martinez, JD ’20

Andrew Martinez is an associate attorney in the Community Associations Law section of RMWBH Attorneys and Counselors at Law in Austin.

Tristan Kaisharis, JD ’21

Tristan Kaisharis joined the Corporate, Securities/M&A Practice Group in Winstead’s Austin office.