Rocket Docket | August 2021

Rocket Docket Newsletter

linkedin instagram twitter facebook Bearlink
August 31, 2021
Past Issues

Featured Story image

Diverse Candidates Are Encouraged to Apply

Faculty Positions
Baylor Law is currently recruiting to fill tenure-track positions in Criminal Law, Patent Law, Transactional/Commercial/Business Law, and a flexible fourth position for an outstanding candidate whose experience and preferences are outside the scope of the other three positions. . . More Information

Assistant Dean of Career Development
Baylor Law is seeking an Assistant Dean of Career Development to lead a dynamic team and develop strategies for improving upon our success in finding meaningful employment for Baylor Lawyers. . . More Information

Navy’s Highest Ranked Attorney — a Baylor Lawyer — Celebrates Long, Successful Career

Featured Story image

Vice Admiral John G. Hannink, JD ’94 (Right)

For more than three decades, Vice Admiral John G. Hannink (JD ’94) has faithfully served our country in the U.S. Navy. From his early days as the public affairs officer aboard the USS Nimitz to his current post as the Judge Advocate General (JAG) of the Navy, it’s safe to say Hannink has had a pretty incredible career — and Baylor Law played a big part in his trajectory. . . Full Story

Baylor Law Welcomes Professor Rachel Kincaid

Featured Story image

Rachel Kincaid, former prosecutor at the U.S. Department of Justice and civil rights advocate, has joined the Baylor Law faculty. She is slated to teach criminal law and criminal procedure, and her scholarship focuses on criminal law reform and civil rights. . . Full Story

Feature Story Image

Alumni Notes
Alumni Notes are published based on the information we receive from our alumni.
If you have been recognized or have other professional news to share, please e-mail for inclusion in a future issue of Rocket Docket.

Michael Heiskell, JD ’74, owner of Johnson Vaughn & Heiskell in Fort Worth, was sworn in as First Vice President of the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (NACDL). He was recently elected to Baylor’s Board of Regents for a three-year-term.
Kathy Snapka, JD ’80, was selected as the 2021 Trial Lawyer of the Year by the Texas Chapters of the American Board of Trial Advocates (TEX-ABOTA). She will receive her award at the annual dinner on October 30.
Hon. Lacy Britten, JD ’91, Municipal Judge for the cities of Hurst and Euless was selected by the Texas Municipal Courts Association to receive the jurist of the year award.
Rene E. De Coss, JD ’95, was appointed Presiding Judge for the City of Brownsville’s Municipal Court.
Janet Hahn, JD ’95, Decker Jones’ shareholder, was named one of Fort Worth’s most influential people by Fort Worth Inc. magazine. She also serves on the Board of Trustees of Baylor Scott & White All Saints Medical Center, the Board of The Women’s Center of Tarrant County, and the Tarrant County College Foundation. Janet is also a member of Women Steering Business, the nonprofit that raises money to buy livestock from girls who exhibit animals at the annual Fort Worth Stock Show. She teaches young children the Bible on Sundays.
Cindy V. Tisdale, JD ’95, with the Law Office of Cindy V. Tisdale, PLLC in Granbury, was elected President of the Texas Academy of Family Law Specialists for 2022.
Derek Gilliland, JD ’98, co-founder of Sorey & Gilliland, LLP in Longview & Waco, was recognized again in the 2022 edition of The Best Lawyers in America legal guide for his personal injury work on behalf of plaintiffs.
Dan Sorey, JD ’03, co-founder of Sorey & Gilliland, LLP in Longview & Waco, was recognized in the 2022 edition of The Best Lawyers in America legal guide for patent and intellectual property litigation.
Angela M. Buchanan, JD ’09, joined the Dallas office of Phillips Murrah P.C. with a focus on complex commercial litigation.
Jeffrey T. Fisher, JD ’09, has been a Deputy Attorney General in the Correctional Law Section of the California Attorney General’s Office since 2017. He was recently promoted to Supervising Deputy Attorney General.
Terah Moxley, JD ’10, joined The Simpson Tuegel Law Firm as Partner to focus on women’s and victim’s rights. Terah is Board Certified in Labor and Employment Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. She has been recognized as a Texas Rising Star (2018-2021) and Up-and-Coming 50 Women Lawyers of 2021 by Super Lawyers, Best Lawyers by D Magazine and Best Lawyers in America 2021. She is a Fellow in the Dallas Association of Young Lawyers, a member of the Dallas Bar Association’s WE LEAD 2020 class, a member of the Junior League of Dallas since 2014 (Board of Directors in 2020) and served as ex officio member of the Board of Directors for the Girl Scouts of Northeast Texas (2018-2019).
Lanny Begley, JD ’11, of Knapp Begley Law has been named in Top Attorneys in the field of Criminal Law by Fort Worth Magazine.
Hon. Nicholas Chu, JD ’11, was named the 2021 Judge of the Year by the Justices of the Peace and Constables Association. He was also recently appointed by the Texas Supreme Court as a commissioner to the Texas Access to Justice Commission.
Kim Knapp, JD ’12, of Knapp Begley Law, has been named to the list of Top Attorneys in the field of Criminal Law by Fort Worth Magazine.
Jacob Cole Jeffries, JD ’14, has joined Orsinger, Nelson, Downing & Anderson (ONDA) in Frisco. Jacob is Board Certified in Family Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization & has earned a spot on the list of Texas Rising Stars each year since 2018.
Jenny Roan Forgey, JD ’18, with The Jones Law Firm, was named an Austin Monthly Top Attorney in Civil Law-Transactional for 2021.
In Memoriam
A. W. Hodde, Jr., JD ’50, Full Obituary
Abelardo Flores, JD ’71, Full Obituary
Hon. Susan Stephens, JD ’73, Full Obituary
Andrew "Andy" Joseph Hix, JD ’80, Full Obituary

Give now

Baylor Logo

Baylor Law, Alumni Relations, One Bear Place #97288, Waco, Texas 76798
254.710.8357 |