January 2021

Alumni Notes are published based on the information we receive from our alumni. If you have been recognized or have other professional news to share, please e-mail law_alumni@baylor.edu, for inclusion in the next issue of Rocket Docket.

David C. Kent, JD ’78

David C. Kent was appointed to a 3-year term as a Commissioner on the Texas Board of Legal Specialization's Civil Trial Law Examination Commission.

John D. Penn, JD '82

John D. Penn, Firmwide Chair of the Bankruptcy and Restructuring Practice of Perkins Coie LLP, was recently recognized by Best Lawyers 2021 for both Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law and Litigation - Bankruptcy. He has been recognized as one of the Best Lawyers in America in those categories each year since 2003. John is also recognized in Bankruptcy/Restructuring by Chambers & Partners, publishers of Chambers USA: America’s Leading Lawyers for Business.

Hon. R. Jack Cagle, JD ’86

Hon. R. Jack Cagle has been appointed by Governor Greg Abbott to the Task Force on Disaster Issues Affecting Persons Who Are Elderly and Persons Who Are Disabled for a term set to expire in February 2025. Judge Cagle has served as County Commissioner for Harris County Precinct 4 since 2011.

Kirk Pittard, JD ’99

Kirk Pittard, partner at Durham, Pittard & Spalding, was named to the Top 100 attorneys in Texas, Top 100 attorneys for the Dallas/Fort Worth area and as a Super Lawyer by Thomson Reuters Super Lawyers Magazine in the Appellate category.

James Stainton, JD ’00

James Stainton was appointed by Governor Greg Abbott as the District Attorney of the 271st Judicial District in Jack and Wise Counties. James has served as Wise County Attorney since 2009. He is a member of the Texas District and County Attorneys Association, a former board member of the Wise County Domestic Violence Task Force and a founder of Wise County Teen Court.

Danielle Ahlrich, JD ’09,

Danielle Ahlrich has joined Reed Smith LLP in Austin as partner. Danielle has represented taxpayers challenging assessments and seeking refunds of overpaid taxes before the Texas Office of Administrative Hearings, in state district courts and on appeal.

Elizabeth A. Voss, JD ’10

Elizabeth A. Voss was elected partner at Dykema. She works in the Dallas office in the area of Labor & Employment.

Andrew Guthrie, JD ’11

Andrew Guthrie has been promoted to partner at Haynes & Boone LLP. Andrew is a member of the Appellate Practice Group in the Dallas office. He focuses his practice on appeals and critical trial court briefing across an array of subject matters, including business disputes, government investigations, bankruptcy, energy, products liability, intellectual property, and the False Claims Act.

Lauren Sepulveda, JD ’11

Lauren Sepulveda was appointed by the McAllen City Commission as the Municipal Court Judge for the City of McAllen.

Connor Buchanan, JD ’15

Connor Buchanan has been elected a shareholder of the law firm of McCreary, Veselka, Bragg, & Allen, P.C. Connor’s practice includes representation of local governments in the areas of ad valorem taxation, valuation, and litigation.

Joseph Craven, JD ’15

Joseph Craven has been named a partner at The Carlson Law Firm. Joseph’s practice focuses on mass torts and product liability at the state and federal level.

Daniel M. Krchnavek, JD ’19

Daniel M. Krchnavek, the Regulatory and Compliance Counsel for the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction, was awarded the State Superintendent Award for Excellence in Public Education for exemplary service to North Carolina students, teachers, and educational community.

Carson May, JD ’20

Carson May joined the Dallas office of Munsch Hardt Kopt & Harr.

Brandon Stendara, JD ’20

Brandon Stendara joined the Dallas office of Munsch Hardt Kopt & Harr.