March 2020

Alumni Notes are published based on the information we receive from our alumni. If you have been recognized or have other professional news to share, please e-mail, for inclusion in the next issue of Rocket Docket.

Neal W. Adams, JD '70

Neal W. Adams is the recipient of the 2020 Dan Rugeley Price Memorial Award from the Texas Bar Foundation. The award is given in memory of Dan Price who practiced law in Austin, Texas, and who passed away in January 1994. The award celebrates Dan's life as an outstanding lawyer who devoted himself completely to any task he undertook. The recipient exemplifies the qualities of an accomplished legal writer and researcher, a talented and dedicated practicing lawyer, a servant of the profession as a volunteer and an advocate on its behalf. The recipient exhibits an unreserved commitment to clients and to the practice of law and demonstrates dedication to the Bar and service to the public with the same commitment, dedication and zeal which defined Dan Price's life and work. Neal has been practicing law in Texas and Tarrant County, Texas since 1972.

Senator Kirk Watson, JD '81

Senator Kirk Watson has been appointed the Founding Dean of the University of Houston Hobby School of Public Affairs. Senator Watson was formerly mayor of Austin and has served in the Texas Senate since 2007. He was elected by his Senate colleagues as Senate President Pro Tem during the 2019 Legislative Session and was named by Texas Monthly as one of the top legislators. He will leave the Senate on April 30.

Fletcher H. Brown, JD '91

Fletcher H. Brown was recently selected as the Chair-Elect of the State Bar of Texas Health Law Council for 2020. Fletcher is a partner in the health law section of Waller, Lansden, Dortch & Davis, LLP in Austin and is board certified in health law.

Laura Alaniz, JD '96

Laura Alaniz has joined the employment law litigation group in the Houston office of Porter Hedges LLP.

Hon. Ana Esteven, JD '97

Hon. Ana Esteven has been appointed by Governor Greg Abbott to be the Presiding Judge of the Ninth Administrative Judicial Region.

Robert Moody, JD '07

Robert Moody began a new career as an Assistant U.S. Attorney at the United States Attorney's Office for the Western District of Louisiana in Shreveport..

Christopher K. Fletcher, JD '09

Christopher K. Fletcher, a staff attorney with Simmons and Fletcher, P.C. in Houston, was awarded "Top Lawyer" recognition by H Texas Magazine.

Jeanine Novosad Rispoli, JD '11

Jeanine Novosad Rispoli, of Rispoli Law Firm in Waco, has been nominated as a candidate for President-Elect of the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA). Donald Delgado of College Station was also nominated. Voting begins April 1 and ends April 30.

Lauren Renee Sepulveda, JD '11

Lauren Renee Sepulveda, of the Office of the Criminal District Attorney in Hidalgo County, was elected Secretary for the 2020-2021 TYLA Executive Committee.

Jake A. Boyd, JD '13

Jake A. Boyd, with Whitaker Chalk Swindle & Schwartz PLLC, has been elected to membership in the Fellows of the Texas Bar Foundation.