Rocket Docket | February 2020

Rocket Docket Newsletter

linkedin instagram twitter facebook
February 2019
Past Issues

Featured Story image

Baylor Law's Brad Toben is now the Longest Serving Dean of a U.S. Law School

Featured Story image

With the recent retirement of Dean John F. O'Brien from New England Law, Baylor Law's Dean Brad Toben is now the longest serving dean among the 203 ABA accredited law schools in the nation, with more than 28 years of service in his role. . . Full Story

Baylor Law Celebrates 15 Years of Making the Law 'User Friendly' at the People's Law School

Featured Story image

Baylor Law's tradition of serving and educating consumers on their legal rights continued on Saturday, February 15 at the 15th annual People's Law School. . . Full Story

Baylor Law Staff and Alumni Instrumental in Opening of County Law Library

Featured Story image

Baylor Law's Director of Clinical Programs Josh Borderud, JD '09, and Law Library Reference Librarian Chris Galeczka served with Baylor Lawyers Susan Kelly, JD '86, Stan Schwieger, JD '91, and Gerald Villarrial, JD '94, on the committee responsible for the recent opening of the County Law Library located inside the McLennan County Courthouse Annex. The new library features enhanced digital and print resources for attorneys and members of the public. . . Full Story

Hon. Maurice B. Foley, Chief Judge, U.S. Tax Court Speaks at Baylor Law

Featured Story image

On February 11, Baylor Law welcomed the Honorable Maurice B. Foley, Chief Judge of the U.S. Tax Court, to speak during a session of Baylor Law's award-winning Professional Development Program. Judge Foley discussed the importance of lawyers embracing the role of servant leadership. . . More Photos

Featured Story image

Register to participate in 2020's Spring On-Campus Interview program. The second Spring session is taking place March 27 and 30. Regardless of whether you attend in person, via Skype, or just collect resumes, there are exceptional Baylor Law students and graduates ready to meet your needs.

To register or for more information, click here,
email, or call Baylor Law's
Career Development Office at 254.710.1210.
Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you!

Alumni NOTES
Alumni Notes are published based on the information we receive from our alumni.
If you have been recognized or have other professional news to share, please e-mail for inclusion in a future issue of Rocket Docket.

David C. Kent, JD '78, was appointed to the Board of Directors for the Dallas Bar Association's Community Service Fund for the year 2020. He was also elected to the Dallas Bar Association's Construction Law Section's Council for 2020. His firm has merged with Faegre Baker Daniels to form Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP in Dallas.
Kyle Deaver, JD '93, received Baylor University's Pro Texana Medal of Service award, recognizing an individual whose contributions in furthering the mission of Baylor have made an immeasurable impact in the public or non-profit sector. Kyle served four years on the Waco City Council and was elected mayor in 2016. His second two-year term will end in May 2020. During his tenure as mayor, downtown Waco has experienced a rebirth and is in the midst of tremendous growth. Kyle also serves on the board of the Waco Foundation. He has been a board member of the Cameron Park Zoological Society and Greater Waco Chamber of Commerce and has served six years on the Waco Plan Commission. Kyle is in partnership with his brother, John Deaver, JD '92, at Deaver and Deaver and as directors of American Bank and co-owners of American Guaranty Title.
Jason Stephens, JD '97, has announced the formation of Stephens Law in Fort Worth, focusing exclusively on representing individuals and their families affected by a personal injury and wrongful death. Jason is licensed in Texas, Oklahoma and Colorado and has been recognized as a Texas Super Lawyer in the area of personal injury since 2004.
Jessica Hart, JD '09, has been nominated by President Donald J. Trump to be Director of the Office for Victims of Crime. She currently serves as the Intergovernmental and Public Liaison for the Department of Justice, where she manages relationships with State Governors, State attorneys general, elected officials, law enforcement, and key stakeholders. Jessica also helps direct responses to congressional inquiries and prepare witnesses for testimony and briefings before the United States Congress.
Scott Riddle, JD '10, a litigator and crisis manager with Kane Russell Coleman Logan, has been promoted to Director in the Dallas office. Scott was recently listed in D Magazine's Best Lawyers Under 40 and named to Thomson Reuters' Texas Rising Stars for three consecutive years.
D. Ryan Harper, JD '11, was named partner at Allen Boone Humphries Robinson LLP.
Ryan M. Walters, JD '11, is a litigation associate with Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP in Albuquerque. He works in the firm's general liability, employment and corporate practices and handles a variety of real estate and collection cases. Ryan was recently recognized in Marquis Who's Who.
Kelly Hodge, JD '12, was elected partner at Jackson Walker in Dallas working in the area of real estate in their finance and banking division.
David Schlottman, JD '12, was elected partner at Jackson Walker in Dallas. He is an advisor and litigator who focuses on labor and employment. He has been recognized as a "Rising Star" by Super Lawyers and one of the "Best Lawyers in Dallas" by D Magazine. David serves on the Board of Directors of the Community Partners of Dallas and on the leadership councils for both the State Bar of Texas Labor and Employment Law Section and the Labor & Employment Law Section of the Dallas Bar Association.
Stephen Netherton, JD '13, has accepted a partnership position at Hite Fanning & Honeyman LLP in Wichita, Kansas.
Elizabeth Turco, JD '13, has joined Wright Close & Barger LLP.
Brandon Knighton, JD '19, has joined McMahon Surovik Suttle P.C. in Abilene as an associate attorney. His areas of practice include business litigation, real estate, and oil and gas.
Ty Drury, JD '18, was posthumously awarded an honorary law license by the State Bar of Texas.
March 2020

March 5, 2020
Hosted by The Morales Firm, P.C.
5:30 PM - 7:00 PM
6243 W. Interstate 10, Suite 132
San Antonio, Texas 78201

March 24, 2020
Hosted by BoyarMiller
5:30 PM - 7:00 PM
2925 Richmond Ave., 14th Floor
Houston, Texas 77098

March 30, 2020
Hosted by Baylor Law
4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Baylor Law School, Room 127
1114 S. University Parks Dr.
Waco, Texas 76706

April 2020

April 7, 2020
Hosted by Blaies & Hightower
5:30 PM - 7:00 PM
420 Throckmorton Street, Suite 1200
Fort Worth, Texas 76102

April 16, 2020
Hosted by Munck Wilson Mandala LLP
5:30 PM - 7:00 PM
12770 Coit Road, Suite 600
Dallas, Texas 75251

There are many more upcoming alumni events! Visit the Baylor Law Alumni Association Events webpage for a full list of upcoming Baylor Law alumni events.
Give now

Baylor University Logo

Baylor Law, Alumni Relations, One Bear Place #97288, Waco, Texas 76798
254.710.8357 |