February 2020

Alumni Notes are published based on the information we receive from our alumni. If you have been recognized or have other professional news to share, please e-mail law_alumni@baylor.edu, for inclusion in the next issue of Rocket Docket.

David C. Kent, JD '78

David C. Kent was appointed to the Board of Directors for the Dallas Bar Association's Community Service Fund for the year 2020. He was also elected to the Dallas Bar Association's Construction Law Section's Council for 2020. His firm has merged with Faegre Baker Daniels to form Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP in Dallas.

Kyle Deaver, JD '93

Kyle Deaver received Baylor University's Pro Texana Medal of Service award, recognizing an individual whose contributions in furthering the mission of Baylor have made an immeasurable impact in the public or non-profit sector. Kyle served four years on the Waco City Council and was elected mayor in 2016. His second two-year term will end in May 2020. During his tenure as mayor, downtown Waco has experienced a rebirth and is in the midst of tremendous growth. Kyle also serves on the board of the Waco Foundation. He has been a board member of the Cameron Park Zoological Society and Greater Waco Chamber of Commerce and has served six years on the Waco Plan Commission. Kyle is in partnership with his brother, John Deaver, JD '92, at Deaver and Deaver and as directors of American Bank and co-owners of American Guaranty Title.

Jason Stephens, JD '97

Jason Stephens announces the formation of Stephens Law in Fort Worth, focusing exclusively on representing individuals and their families affected by a personal injury and wrongful death. Jason is licensed in Texas, Oklahoma and Colorado and has been recognized as a Texas Super Lawyer in the area of personal injury since 2004.

Jessica Hart, JD '09

Jessica Hart has been nominated by President Donald J. Trump to be Director of the Office for Victims of Crime. She currently serves as the Intergovernmental and Public Liaison for the Department of Justice, where she manages relationships with State Governors, State attorneys general, elected officials, law enforcement, and key stakeholders. Jessica also helps direct responses to congressional inquiries and prepare witnesses for testimony and briefings before the United States Congress.

Scott Riddle, JD '10

Scott Riddle, a litigator and crisis manager with Kane Russell Coleman Logan, has been promoted to Director in the Dallas office. Scott was recently listed in D Magazine's Best Lawyers Under 40 and named to Thomson Reuters' Texas Rising Stars for three consecutive years.

D. Ryan Harper, JD '11

D. Ryan Harper was named partner at Allen Boone Humphries Robinson LLP.

Ryan M. Walters, JD '11

Ryan M. Walters is a litigation associate with Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP in Albuquerque. He works in the firm's general liability, employment and corporate practices and handles a variety of real estate and collection cases. Ryan was recently recognized in Marquis Who's Who.

Kelly Hodge, JD '12

Kelly Hodge was elected partner at Jackson Walker in Dallas working in the area of real estate in their finance and banking division.

David Schlottman, JD '12

David Schlottman was elected partner at Jackson Walker in Dallas. He is an advisor and litigator who focuses on labor and employment. He has been recognized as a “Rising Star” by Super Lawyers and one of the “Best Lawyers in Dallas” by D Magazine. David serves on the Board of Directors of the Community Partners of Dallas and on the leadership councils for both the State Bar of Texas Labor and Employment Law Section and the Labor & Employment Law Section of the Dallas Bar Association.

Stephen Netherton, JD '13

Stephen Netherton has accepted a partnership position at Hite Fanning & Honeyman LLP in Wichita, Kansas.

Elizabeth Turco, JD '13

Elizabeth Turco has joined Wright Close & Barger LLP.

Brandon Knighton, JD '19,

Brandon Knighton has joined McMahon Surovik Suttle P.C. in Abilene as an associate attorney. His areas of practice include business litigation, real estate and oil and gas.

Ty Drury, JD '18

Ty Drury was posthumously awarded an honorary law license by the State Bar of Texas.