September 2019

Alumni Notes are published based on the information we receive from our alumni. If you have been recognized or have other professional news to share, please e-mail, for inclusion in the next issue of Rocket Docket.

John Weber, Jr., JD '73

John Weber, Jr., with Norton Rose Fulbright in San Antonio, will received the 2019 Ethical Life Award from The Association of Corporate Counsel, South/Central Texas Chapter.

Jimmy Vaught, JD '80

Jimmy Vaught, with Vaught Law Firm in Austin, is board certified in both family law and civil appellate law. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers. Jimmy was honored in 2019 for his outstanding work ethic and legal expertise by Super Lawyers, Best Lawyers, and U.S. News.

Keith Nelson, JD '83

Keith Nelson, name partner with Orsinger, Nelson, Downing & Anderson, LLP, was recognized for his work in Family Law in the 2020 edition of Best Lawyers in America.

Dan Wuthrich, JD '88

Dan Wuthrich and his wife, Cheryl, have moved to the Eatonville, WA area from Arizona to fill the open head pastor position at Tanwax Country Chapel. As a member of an organization called Village Missions, Wuthrich began his ministry career in 2012 after more than two decades in law.

Bryan O. Blevins, JD '90

Bryan O. Blevins with Provost Umphrey Law Firm LLP in Beaumont, was listed in Texas Super Lawyers 2019 for the 16th consecutive year.

Hon. Vicki Menard, JD '90

Hon. Vicki Menard was presented the 2019 Distinguished Alumni Award by the McLennan Community College Foundation. Judge Menard became the first woman to serve as a state district judge in McLennan County when former Governor Rick Perry appointed her the first judge of the 414th District Court when it was created in 2005.

Susan Moore, JD '90

Susan Moore, corporate vice president of corporate responsibility at Advanced Micro Devices in Austin, has been selected as a 2019 Woman Worth Watching by Profiles in Diversity Journal.

Darren L. Brown, JD '91

Darren L. Brown, with Provost Umphrey Law Firm LLP in Beaumont, was listed in Texas Super Lawyers 2019 for the sixth consecutive year.

Sharon Ramage, JD '92

Sharon Ramage of the Ramage Law Group, was named an Elite Lawyer. She was honored for her devotion to advocacy for families with special needs children, helping them obtain services they need and deserve.

Christopher Trowbridge, JD '98

Christopher Trowbridge, chairman of the litigation section of Bell Nunnally, has been named to Best Lawyer's "Best Lawyers in America" list for 2020.

William E. Hammel, JD '02

William E. Hammel joined Fox Rothschild LLP law firm as a partner focusing on labor and employment matters in Dallas.

Matthew Matheny, JD '03

Matthew Matheny, with Provost Umphrey Law Firm LLP in Beaumont, was listed in Texas Super Lawyers 2019 for the fourth consecutive year.

Christian Otteson, JD '03

Christian Otteson, a partner with Shapiro Bieging Barber Otteson LLP in Denver, was featured in the August 2019 issue of the Denver Business Journal regarding legal trends in banking and bank acquisitions.

Shivali Sharma, JD '05

Shivali Sharma was awarded the 2019 Outstanding Staff Attorney Award by the Texas Association of Appellate Court Attorneys. The award was given by the attorneys of the fourteen appellate courts to recognize Shavali's service to the community, profession, and to the Texas Appellate Courts.

Sherry Hill Rodriguez, JD '11

Sherry Hill Rodriguez has been named as Houston Development Director for Texans Can Academies, a network of dropout recovery high schools in Texas. In her role, Sherry is responsible for building strategic relationships and fundraising in support of the organization's mission.

Kevin Keller, JD '13

Kevin Keller was recently named the Tulsa County District Attorney's Office Chief of the Criminal Division.

Morgan McPheeters, JD '14

Morgan McPheeters formed the law firm McPheeters Law, PLLC, focusing on civil appeals and litigation strategy & support. She currently serves on the Advocates Board of Directors for the Texas Trial Lawyers Association and the Dallas Trial Lawyers Association Board of Directors. She was also recognized as a 2019 Rising Star in the Appellate category.

Molly Wilson, JD '18

Molly Wilson is the new Chief of Staff for District 29 Representative Ed Thompson in Austin.

Joanna Raines, JD '19

Joanna Raines, joined Kelly Hart & Hallman as an associate in the Appellate section.

Marylynn Smitherman, JD '19

Marylynn Smitherman joined Kelly Hart & Hallman as an associate in the Litigation section.