August 2019

Alumni Notes are published based on the information we receive from our alumni. If you have been recognized or have other professional news to share, please e-mail, for inclusion in the next issue of Rocket Docket.

Michael McCoy, JD '79

Michael McCoy, has joined Lugenbuhl, Wheaton, Peck, Rankin & Hubbard as Senior Counsel in the Houston office. He brings a wealth of experience in insurance and litigation.

Laura Bellegie Sharp, JD '86,

Laura Bellegie Sharp, a partner at The Sharp Firm in Austin, TX, was elected to the American Bar Association Board of Governors at the 2019 ABA Annual Meeting in San Francisco, CA. She was elected from District 8, representing Texas and Florida attorneys, and will serve for a three-year term. Sharp has served as a Baylor Law Alumni Executive Committee member (2013-2016), President of the Austin Bar Association (2003-2004), State Bar of Texas director (2004-2007) and trustee for the National Conference of Bar Foundations (2011-2018). She is also on the Board of Directors for the Texas Board of Legal Specialization and treasurer of the Austin Bar Foundation.

Sharla Frost, JD '87,

Sharla Frost, with Tucker Ellis LLP, has been selected by her peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America for 2020.

Bryan O. Blevins, Jr., JD '90

Bryan O. Blevins, Jr., Equity Partner with Provost Umphrey Law Firm in Beaumont, earned "Lawyer of the Year" for his work with mass tort litigation and class actions on behalf of plaintiffs in The Best Lawyers in America listing for 2020. He was also listed with additional honors for plaintiffs' personal injury and product liability litigation.

Darren Brown, JD '91,

Darren Brown with Provost Umphrey Law Firm LLP in Beaumont, received "Lawyer of the Year" recognition for plaintiffs' product liability litigation with additional recognition for plaintiffs' personal injury litigation in The Best Lawyers in America for 2020.

Leane Capps, JD '96

Leane Capps, with Polsinelli PC in Dallas, has been named one of the 2020 Best Lawyers in America in the Appellate Practice category.

Libby King, JD '01

Libby King has a new firm name and location: Moerer & King, LLP, located at 701 S. 11th Street, Suite A in Richmond, Texas. The group focuses on probate, guardianship, real estate and business transactions, litigation, and mediation.

Matthew Matheny, JD '03

Matthew Matheny, with Provost Umphrey Law Firm in Beaumont, was listed in The Best Lawyers in America 2020 for mass torts, class actions and personal injury. This is his fifth consecutive listing.

D. Luke McMahan, JD '05

D. Luke McMahan has been named a shareholder with Harrison Steck, P.C. in Fort Worth.

Lawrence Morales II, JD '05

Lawrence Morales II, was recently elected Secretary of the San Antonio Bar Association for the 2019-2020 term.

Ronnie Turner, Jr., JD '10

Ronnie Turner, Jr., with Provost Umphrey Law Firm in Beaumont, was listed in The Best Lawyers in America 2020, for personal injury and product liability. This is his third consecutive listing.

Hunter Oliver, JD '13

Hunter Oliver has joined the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (U.S. Department of Transportation) as a litigation attorney in the Office of the Chief Counsel in Washington, D.C.

Andrea M. Palmer, JD '13

Andrea M. Palmer has been named Director of Coverage & Litigation with Higginbotham in Fort Worth. Andrea was also recently selected as one of the "400 Most Influential People in Fort Worth" by Fort Worth Inc. Magazine.