May 2019

Alumni Notes are published based on the information we receive from our alumni. If you have been recognized or have other professional news to share, please e-mail, for inclusion in the next issue of Rocket Docket.

Ike Vanden Eykel, JD '73

Ike Vanden Eykel was named by Texas Super Lawyers as one of the Top Ten Attorneys in Texas for the fifth consecutive year. He is CEO of KoonsFuller, the largest Family Law firm in Texas.

Roland K. Johnson, JD '79

Roland K. Johnson is the recipient of the 2019 Lola Wright Foundation Award from the Texas Bar Foundation. The Lola Wright Foundation Award, established in 1985, is presented in memory of Coleman Gay, who was a distinguished Texas lawyer who exemplified the highest standards of professional ethics. The award is presented in recognition of outstanding public service in advancing and enhancing legal ethics in Texas. Johnson is a proven leader in the Texas legal community. A former president of the State Bar of Texas, he has been honored for his professionalism and legal knowledge, and is often asked to speak on ethics, professionalism, arbitration, and leadership issues. Johnson's experience benefits his clients and the community in their quest for justice in commercial litigation, arbitrations, and legal malpractice arenas. Johnson is a Fellow of the College of Commercial Arbitrators, a member of American Board of Trial Advocates, a member of the American Law Institute, a board member of Texas Access to Justice Foundation, and commissioner to the Texas Access to Justice Commission. He is a shareholder in Harris, Finley & Bogle, P.C. in Fort Worth. Johnson will be publicly recognized at the Texas Bar Foundation Annual Dinner held on June 14, 2019 at the JW Marriott in Austin. He has selected Baylor Law and the Texas A&M Foundation to receive donations in honor of his acceptance of the Lola Wright Foundation Award.

Jerry Clements, JD '81

Jerry Clements has been selected to serve as chair of the Baylor University Board of Regents. Clements is a partner in the international Dallas-based law firm Locke Lord LLP. She served as chair of the firm from 2006 to 2017, overseeing two mergers and an increase in annual revenue from $222 million to $449 million.

Janice Davis, JD '86

Janice Davis, a corporate attorney who focuses on mergers and acquisitions, primarily in the health care and technology spaces, has joined Morgan Lewis after almost 20 years with Bracewell.

Jeffery T. Nobles, JD '86

Jeffery T. Nobles recently joined Husch Blackwell as a partner in the Houston office. A well-known and respected member of the appellate bar, Nobles joins the firm's Technology, Manufacturing & Transportation industry group and its Commercial Litigation practice group. He is board certified as a Civil Appellate Specialist by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. He has appeared in Texas Super Lawyers since 2003 in its Civil Appellate Law category and was recognized in Top 100 Houston Super Lawyers in 2018.

Cristopher Farrar, JD '93

Cristopher Farrar has joined Bradley Arant Boult Cummings' Houston office as a partner in the Construction Practice Group. Farrar focuses his practice on drafting construction, engineering, and architectural agreements, as well as service and operation-related contracts and oilfield transactions. He represents clients in a wide range of sophisticated and complex project development matters related to commercial, energy, oil and gas, power, renewable, manufacturing, chemical, pipeline, offshore, and infrastructure. He has extensive experience managing major matters involving capital improvements and large asset-based transactions ranging from $25 million to more than $8 billion. Farrar also frequently presents at conferences and seminars on topics related to risk allocation in construction contracts. Prior to joining Bradley, Farrar was a principal at Cokinos Young.

Artie Renee Pobjecky, JD '01

Artie Renee Pobjecky was honored with the Julie Pope Award by Girls, Inc. of Winter Haven, FL, at their 28th Annual "She Knows Where She's Going" luncheon. Girls, Inc. honored her for embodying their program's core values, serving as a viable female role model, and making great contributions to the community. Through her law firm, Pobjecky & Pobjecky Global Immigration Law, she has served as an advocate for many immigrants and has helped them achieve the American Dream of becoming United States citizens. She also serves as the immediate past chair of the Florida Lawyers Association.

Amanda G. Taylor, JD '04

Amanda G. Taylor received the 2019 Litigation/Appellate Attorney Award from the Travis County Women Lawyers' Association (TCWLA). Award recipients are nominated by their peers for their work merit, volunteer activities and the atmosphere they create in the workplace. Taylor is a board-certified civil appellate specialist who routinely represents clients in both district and appellate courts across Texas. Her practice areas are widely varied and include disputes regarding contracts, business organizations, employment, shareholders, fiduciaries, trusts, the Texas Citizens' Participation Act, fraud/misrepresentation, real property, franchise and sales tax, and consumers. She has been recognized by Super Lawyers as a Texas Super Lawyer for civil appellate practice every year since 2014 and was named as a Top 50 Central/West Texas Lawyer in 2018. Taylor is the current Chair of the Civil Appellate Section of the Austin Bar Association and has served on the ABA Board of Directors for the last four years.

Allison Dickson, JD '07

Allison Dickson has been selected as a "Rising Star" by the Central Texas Girl Scouts (Women of Distinction).

Jessie Freud, JD '15

Jessie Freud and Walter "Skip" Reaves of Waco will be honored by the Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association with the Charlie Butts Pro Bono Award on Thursday, June 13 in San Antonio.

Chase Lalouette Taskred, JD '19

Chase Lalouette Taskred recently served as a judge for the Harker Heights Teen Court Competition, a program in which she had participated as a teen defender/prosecutor. She has also been selected to serve as a JAG attorney in the U.S. Air Force.