Alumni Notes | October 2018

Alumni Notes are published based on the information we receive from our alumni. If you have been recognized or have other professional news to share, please e-mail, for inclusion in the next issue of Rocket Docket.

The Hon. David Hodges, JD '73

The Hon. David Hodges was selected by the McLennan County Commissioners Court to fill a new general associate judge position in McLennan County.

Marilea Lewis, JD '78

Marilea Lewis, Of Counsel at Orsinger, Nelson, Downing & Anderson, LLP, has been selected for the seventh year among the Top 100 attorneys in Texas by Texas Super Lawyers. Lewis also was named to the list of the Top 50 female attorneys in Texas.

Keith Nelson, JD '83

Keith Nelson, Partner at Orsinger, Nelson, Downing & Anderson, LLP, has been selected among the Top 100 attorneys in Texas by Texas Super Lawyers. Nelson has been selected among the state’s top Family Law attorneys every year since 2003.

The Hon. Vincent J. Messina, JD '85

The Hon. Vincent J. Messina of County Court at Law #1 in Hood County Texas, was elected to the board of directors of the State Bar of Texas - Judicial Section during the Annual conference of Judges. Judge Messina will serve a 3 year term.

Cynthia Olsen, JD '85

Cynthia Olsen, a shareholder with Wilson Cribbs + Goren in Houston and a member of the firm’s Real Estate Law and Lending Law practices, has been elected as president of the board of the Gulf Coast Chapter of the Risk Management Association (RMA) in Houston for a one-year term.

Tresi Moore Weeks, JD '87

Tresi Moore Weeks, attorney and founder of the Weeks Law Firm, PLLC in Plano, Texas, has been appointed as Board Chair of the Disability Rights Texas Board of Directors. Weeks served the last two years as Vice Chair and has been on the Board for five years. She was previously Chair of the Board Strategic Planning Committee and a member of several other Board Committees. She was a member of the DRTx Protection and Advocacy for Individuals with Mental Illness (PAIMI) Advisory Council for four years where she served as Chair of the Council for two years.

Charles E. Sutton Jr., JD '89

Charles E. Sutton Jr., was named of counsel to corporate and insurance defense firm Wanek Kirsch Davies LLC in New Orleans, LA.

Chris Elliott, JD '90

Chris Elliott, Shareholder at Graves Dougherty Hearon & Moody in Austin, was inducted into the Commerce Independent School District’s Hall of Honor. The Hall of Honor is a yearly recognition of graduates, teachers or administrators of Commerce ISD who have had a distinguished career or who have made a significant impact on the students of CISD.

Aaron Burkes, JD '93

Aaron Burkes has been selected as the CEO and executive director of the Northwest Arkansas Regional Airport. Burkes previously served as president of the Arkansas Development Finance Authority. He also served two years in the Arkansas General Assembly as a state representative and was executive dean of economic and workforce development at the University of Wisconsin in Madison.

The Hon. René De Coss, JD '95

The Hon. René De Coss has been named the city attorney of Brownsville through a unanimous vote by the Brownsville City Commission. De Coss previously served as a municipal judge for the 445th Judicial District Court in Cameron County.

Laura Hallmon, JD '99

Laura Hallmon of Cantey Hanger in Fort Worth, has become a Fellow of the Tarrant County Bar Foundation.

Joshua Searcy, JD '05

Joshua Searcy of Searcy and Searcy, PC in Longview, Texas, has been named to the 2018 American Bankruptcy Institute (ABI) "40 Under 40" Emerging Leaders in Insolvency Practice. The list identifies 40 top industry professionals under the age 40. Searcy will be recognized at a special luncheon during the ABI’s 2018 Winter Leadership Conference.

Eliot New, JD '07

Eliot New has joined the Fort Lauderdale, Florida, office of the Greenspoon Marder firm in its nationwide complex litigation group. New was formerly a member of Germer PLLC, in Beaumont, Texas.

Hunter Lewis, JD '10

Hunter Lewis of Orsinger, Nelson, Downing & Anderson, LLP, has been selected for the sixth year among the Top 100 attorneys in Texas by Texas Super Lawyers.

Jackie Wheeler Davis, JD '12

Jackie Wheeler Davis, an associate at Jackson Walker, has earned the Chartered Advisor in Philanthropy (CAP) designation through The American College of Financial Services. With this designation, Jackie is prepared to help clients put together legal strategies that accomplish their wealth planning goals while creating inspired legacy plans.

Joseph Hoelscher, JD '16

Joseph Hoelscher has been appointed Co-Chair of the San Antonio Criminal Defense Lawyers' Association Retention Committee. He has also been elected Senior Manager of the firm Hoelscher Gebbia Cepeda PLLC, a law firm focused on criminal defense, family law, and Child Welfare cases. The 2nd edition of Hoelscher's LexisNexis/Matthew Bender Practice Guide: Texas Drunk Driving Law, will be published this year.