Rocket Docket | May 2017

Rocket Docket Newsletter

linkedin instagram twitter facebook
May 2017
Past Issues

2017 Baylor Lawyer of the Year – Senator Murray Watson, Jr.

Feature Story 4 Image

Baylor Law School named Senator Murray Watson, Jr., of Waco, Texas, the 2017 Baylor Lawyer of the Year.

"Senator Watson is most deserving of this honor," Dean Brad Toben said. "Murray is an exemplar of a public servant. His impact on the state of Texas, McLennan County, and Baylor is profound, and he is distinctively a humble, self-deprecating leader." Full Story

Baylor Law Awards Degrees to 76 Graduates During 2017 Spring Commencement

Feature Story 4 Image

On Saturday, April 29, seventy-six graduates officially became Baylor Lawyers at the commencement ceremony on Baylor University's campus. Dean Brad Toben provided the welcome; Provost Gregory Jones conferred the degrees; Judge Ed Kinkeade, JD '74, of the United States District Court, Northern District of Texas, delivered the commencement address; Kyle Beckrich, highest-ranking student of the graduating class, delivered the student remarks; graduate Sam Reid delivered the invocation; and Professors Beth Miller, JD '85, and Liz Fraley, JD '88, hooded the graduates. . . View the video of the ceremony here.

Baylor Lawyer Joshua Van Eaton, JD '01, Lead Counsel for the DOJ in Unprecedented Volkswagen Emissions Fraud Settlement

Feature Story 4 Image

Baylor Lawyer Joshua Van Eaton, JD '01, along with his co-counsel Bethany Engel represented the United States Department of Justice (DOJ) in a recent lawsuit against Volkswagen over widespread vehicle emissions fraud. The magnitude and scope of the fraud and the resulting settlements are unprecedented. . . Full Story

Judge Brad Cates, JD '80, Receives Outstanding Mentor Award

Feature Story 6 Image

Judge Brad Cates, JD '80, of McLennan County Court at Law No. 2 in Waco, Texas, received the 2017 Outstanding Mentor Award from the Waco-McLennan County Young Lawyers Association (WMCYLA). . . Full Story

Baylor Law Registrar Jerri Cunningham Elected to Lead National Network of Law School Officers

Feature Story 6 Image

Jerri Cunningham, Baylor Law School registrar, was elected executive director of the National Network of Law School Officers (NNLSO). NNLSO is an organization committed to the professional development of administrators at law schools across the country. Cunningham previously served as the assistant executive director of NNLSO for nine years. Cunningham has worked at Baylor Law School for 29 years, and she has served as registrar for 25 years.

Feature Story 6 Image

Register today to participate in 2017's Fall On-Campus Interview program, taking place August 10-16 and October 6-10. Regardless of the session or whether you attend in person, via Skype, or just collect resumes, there are exceptional Baylor Law students and graduates ready to meet your needs.

To register or for more information, click here, email, or call 254.710.1210. Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you!

Alumni NOTES
Alumni Notes are published based on the information we receive from our alumni.
If you have been recognized or have other professional news to share, please e-mail, for inclusion in the next issue of Rocket Docket.

W. Neil Rambin, JD '79, of Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP, was selected to D Magazine's 2017 list of the Best Lawyers in Dallas and was recognized on the "Best Attorneys in America" list.
Keith Nelson, JD '83, of the family law boutique Orsinger, Nelson, Downing & Anderson, LLP in Dallas, was selected to D Magazine's 2017 list of the Best Lawyers in Dallas.
Bill Jones, JD '85, former general counsel to former Texas Gov. Rick Perry, has joined Barnes & Thornburg LLP in its Dallas and Washington, D.C. offices as a partner in the Government Services and Finance Department.
Susan Moore, JD '90, corporate vice president of Advanced Micro Devices, received the Gary P. Fazzino Award for Innovation Excellence for her service as Information Technology Industry Council Board chairwoman.
JoAl Cannon Sheridan, JD '92, is the senior name partner in Sheridan Barrett Coble and Andrae, a full-service family law firm, in Austin.
Aaron Burkes, JD '93, is president of the Arkansas Development Finance Authority. He leads an agency that offers low-cost financing for affordable housing development, small industries, government. . . Read More
Andy Payne, JD '94, of PayneMitchell Law Group, was selected to D Magazine's 2017 list of the Best Lawyers in Dallas.
Todd Ramsey, JD '96, of PayneMitchell Law Group, was selected to D Magazine's 2017 list of the Best Lawyers in Dallas.
Christopher Trowbridge, JD '98 of Bell Nunnally, was selected to D Magazine's 2017 list of the Best Lawyers in Dallas.
Celeste Lawton, JD '01, of Norton Rose Fulbright in Houston, was promoted to partner. Her practice concentrates on wealth transfer planning and assisting clients in all aspects of their estate planning, including advising clients with. . . Read More
Misty Keene Cunningham, JD '06, trial attorney for Farmers Insurance, was appointed to a three-year term for the Personal Injury Law Advisory Commission by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. Her term runs from 2017-2020.
Allison Dickson, JD '07, was presented with a State resolution by Rep. Hugh Shine in recognition of her community outreach efforts. Dickson, who graduated at the top of her Baylor Law School class, has lived with spinal muscular atrophy her entire life, but she never allowed her condition to hold her back. . . Read More
Curtis W. Lucas, JD '10, was elected as a Fellow of the State Bar of Texas. Each year one-third of one percent of State Bar of Texas members are invited to become Fellows.
Hon. Nick Chu, JD '11, was unanimously selected by Travis County Commissioners Court to replace current Justice of the Peace Herb Evans. Hon. Evans announced his retirement earlier this year. Chu will take over the bench of the civil and criminal court. . . Read More
Jessica Haile, JD '12, was named shareholder in Abilene law firm McMahon Surovik Suttle, P.C. Haile joined the firm as an associate attorney in 2012 and is a member of the Abilene Bar Association and Big Country Women Who Care.
Alexandria Risinger, JD '16, of Sommerman, McCaffity & Quesada, LLP in Dallas, was recognized as a Best Lawyers of America National Young Attorney Member.
In Memoriam
Hon. Thomas Paul Moore, Jr., JD '43 Full Obituary
Donald Maurice Teer, JD '52 Full Obituary
Donald Gene "Buck" Horton, JD '69 Full Obituary
Ed Walton, JD '76 Full Obituary
Terry Lynn Simmons, JD '78 Full Obituary
Glenn Talmadge Nix III, JD '97 Full Obituary
June 2017

June 22, 2017
Hilton Anatole Dallas

September 2017

September 6, 2017
Marriott Marquis Houston

September 22-23, 2017
For a detailed schedule of events, please click here

Give now

Baylor Law School, Alumni Relations, One Bear Place #97288, Waco, Texas 76798
254.710.8357 |

Click here to unsubscribe.
If you unsubscribe from Rocket Docket, you will no longer
receive any email correspondence from Baylor Law School.