Alumni Notes | January 2017

Alumni Notes are published based on the information we receive from our alumni. If you have been recognized or have other professional news to share, please e-mail, for inclusion in the next issue of Rocket Docket.

Ken Patterson, JD '80

Ken Patterson, of Hiersche, Hayward, Drakeley & Urbach, P.C. in Addison, accepted an invitation to become a member of ABOTA, the American Board of Trial Advocates. ABOTA grants membership on an invitation-only basis to attorneys who demonstrate high personal character and honorable reputation within the state in which the attorney practices law. ABOTA is dedicated to the preservation and promotion of the civil jury trial and seeks to help younger attorneys achieve a higher level of trial advocacy.

Joseph R. Alexander, Jr., JD '83

Joseph R. Alexander, Jr., opened his own firm, The Alexander Firm, in Houston. Alexander will continue working on cases with Richard Mithoff and Mithoff Law in an "of-counsel" position. His son, Joshua, is completing his second year of law school at the University of Kansas. The plan is for Josh to join him upon graduation next spring.

Glenn W. Cunningham, JD '90

Glenn W. Cunningham, of the Law Offices of Glenn W. Cunningham in San Antonio, was elected 2017 president-elect of the Texas Trial Lawyers Association (TTLA). Cunningham joined TTLA in 2002. He is on the Executive Committee of The National Trial Lawyers and the Texas Trial Lawyers Association, and most recently served as TTLA's vice president of finance in 2016. He is also a past president of the San Antonio Trial Lawyers Association. Cunningham has been named one of the Top 100 Trial Lawyers in Texas by The National Trial Lawyers. Full Story

John Lin McCraw, JD '91

John Lin McCraw, of The McCraw Law Group in McKinney, Texas, was elected 2017 president of the Texas Trial Lawyers Association (TTLA). McCraw joined TTLA in 1995. He has served on the TTLA Board of Directors for 11 years and most recently held the positions of vice president of legislative affairs during the 2015 Legislative Session, and president-elect in 2016. He has been named a Texas Super Lawyer since 2010. Full Story

Brit Featherston, JD '92

Brit Featherston was appointed Acting U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Texas Sept. 30, 2016. Full Story

Jason B. Stephens, JD '97

Jason B. Stephens, of Stephens, Anderson & Cummings in Fort Worth was named a Best Lawyer in America for the past two years, a Texas Super Lawyer, and a Top Attorney in Fort Worth for Personal Injury.

Grant Kinsey, JD '99,

Grant Kinsey was appointed by Gov. Greg Abbott as judge of a new state district court in Coryell County that opened Jan. 2 in Gatesville. Read More

Craig Stone, JD '03

Craig Stone senior counsel of Phillips 66 has been named a 2016 Who's Who in Energy by the Houston Business Journal.

Baylor Wortham, JD '05

Baylor Wortham was elected as Judge of the 136th Judicial District Court of Jefferson County, Texas. His term began January 1, and he was sworn in on January 5 at the Jefferson County Courthouse. Watch the Video

Brandy Austin, JD '08

Brandy Austin, of Brandy Austin Law Firm, PLLC was selected to Fort Worth Magazine's Top Attorney List for Personal Injury.

Barbara Pelaez, JD '10,

Barbara Pelaez, of The Bassett Firm in Dallas, was re-elected to the Dallas Association of Young Lawyers Board of Directors.

Whitney Keltch, JD '12

Whitney Keltch, of The Ashmore Law Firm, PC in Dallas, was re-elected to the Dallas Association of Young Lawyers Board of Directors.

Andy Jones, JD '13

Andy Jones, of Sawicki Law in Dallas, was re-elected to the Dallas Association of Young Lawyers Board of Directors.