Current Mock Trial Competitions

Current Mock Trial Competitions


2022-2023 Season • Baylor Law Mock Trial Teams


National Flash Trial Competition Hosted by the University of California Berkeley School of Law

Team Members: Tanner Scheef and Chris Grant

Coach: Chandler Dean

Semifinalists: Tanner Scheef and Chris Grant

Top Advocate: Tanner Scheef

Battle of the Experts Hosted by Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law

Team Members: Rachel Hales, Andrew Boone, Ally Brittain, and Greta Andersen 

Coaches: Mark Altman and Cahal McColgan

Outstanding Advocate: Ally Brittain

The Summit Cup Hosted by the University of Denver Sturm College of Law

Team Members: Ashley Zarate, Will Onyeike, Elena Folgueras, Blake Bryan, and Megan Baumhardt

Coaches: Colin O'Neill and Alli Luckey 

Best in Texas Mock Trial Competition Hosted by the American Board of Trial Advocates

Team Members: Chris Spendlove, Sarah Cureton, and Rhasean Stephens

Coach: Greg White

Best Voir Dire:Chris Spendlove

Best Opening Statement: Rhasean Stephens


National Pretrial Competition Hosted by Stetson Law

Team Members: Gili Canales, Gage Jones, Michael Tagliabue, and Laura Cook

Coaches: Bailey Strohmeyer and Chandler Dean

Champions: Gili Canales, Gage Jones, Michael Tagliabue, and Laura Cook

The Tournament of Champions Hosted by the National Board of Trial Advocates

Team Members: Tanner Scheef, Matthew Vitale, Mark Stahman, and Varun Reddy

Coach: Professor Robert Little

Semifinalists: Tanner Scheef, Matthew Vitale, Mark Stahman, and Varun Reddy


National Civil Trial Competition Hosted by Loyola Law School Los Angeles

Team Members: Sami Shaffer, Daniel Hall, Jake Schultz, Joel Hernandez, and Tristan Crowder

Coaches: Dave Deaconson and Mason Dunnam

American Bar Association Arbitration Competition, Regionals

Team Members: Chris Spendlove, Scarlet Petrucci, Radha Polley, and Archie Cruz

Coach: Chandler Dean


National Trial Competition, Regional Competition, Hosted by the American College of Trial Lawyers and the Texas Young Lawyers Association

Team Members: Tanner Scheef, Rachel Hales, Ally Brittain, Greta Andersen, Emmy Whittaker, and Anna Puff

Coaches: Robert Little & Greg White

Finalists: Tanner Scheef & Rachel Hales

Finalists: Ally Brittain & Greta Andersen

MARCH, 2023

American Associaiton of Justice Student Trial Advocacy Competition, Regional Competition

Team Members: Joel Hernandez, Sami Shaffer, Jake Schultz, Vivian Noyd, Savannah Cone, Ryan Hering, Duncan Robinson, Ameyali Sanchez, Maria Zermeno, Alicia Willoughby, Mariana Jordan, and Francisco Calimano

Coaches: Dave Deaconson, Mason Dunnam, and Claire Harbert

South Texas Mock Trial Challenge Hosted by South Texas College of Law

Team Members: Rhasean Stephens, Carisa Brawley, Waleed Ovase, and Alexia Nelson

Coaches: Ben Yelverton and Chandler Dean

Trials and Tribulations Mock Trial Competition Hosted by the South Carolina University School of Law

Team Members: Elena Folgueras, Haleigh Hashem, Maggie Farrell, Tiffany Dunkin, Robert Butler, and Camdon Maydew

Coaches: Mark Altman, Cahal McColgan, and Bailey Strohmeyer

ABA Mediation Competition, Regional Competition

Team Members: Neali Lambert, Emily Means, Juliet Hernandez, and Jenny Bloodworth 

Coaches: Tony Silas

APRIL, 2023

The Crimson Cup Hosted by Harvard Law School 

Team Members: Gage Jones, Waverly Shannon, Varun Reddy, Jamie Mills, Maddie Gerhard, and Emily Mouser

Coaches: Colin O'Neill and Alli Luckey

Estrella Trial Advocacy Competition Hosted by the George Washington University Law School 

Team Members: McKinsey Meeker, Tayler Kennedy, Hannah Pruitt, and Riley Zoch

Coaches: Marcus Fifer and Kristopher Ruiz

Amicus Cup Trial Competition 

Team Members: Ally Brittain and Greta Andersen 

Coaches: Robert Little 

“Baylor Law students receive superb advocacy training from some of the best trial lawyers in the nation.”

Wayne Fisher
Former President of the International Academy of Trial Lawyers
Sheila & Walter Umphrey Law Center
1114 South University Parks Drive
One Bear Place #97288
Waco, Texas 76798
Legal Disclosures