Baylor > Lariat Archives > News

Griffin recognized for season exploits

Nov. 10, 2010

Daniel Cernero | Photo Editor
No. 10 quarterback Robert Griffin makes a throw from the pocket against Texas on Oct. 30 at Darrell K Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium. Griffin is nominated for the Maxwell Award and the Davey O'Brien Award.

By Tyler Alley
Sports Reporter

Sophomore quarterback Robert Griffin has been named a semifinalist for two prestigious collegiate awards: the Maxwell Award and the Davey O'Brien Award.

"It's an honor," Griffin said. "O'Brien's just for quarterbacks and Maxwell is for everyone, so whenever you become a finalist for an award like that, it's big. So I'm just honored, and I'll continue to go out and impress and make sure this team continues to win football games."

The semifinalists for the Maxwell Award, which is given to the nation's most outstanding collegiate football player, were announced Monday. Griffin is among 16 finalists for the award, with five being from the Big 12.

"Any time you have an award of that stature with anyone in your program, that's big," Griffin said. "Coach [Art] Briles congratulated me for it earlier today. I didn't know much about it. Any time you have that kind of attention coming to your university, good things happen."

The Maxwell Award has been presented since 1937, making it one of the oldest awards in college football. The award was named after legendary college player, official and sports columnist Robert "Tiny" Maxwell. The award is presented by the Maxwell Football Club.

"The Maxwell Football Club honors excellence at all levels of football," Ron Jaworski, president of the Maxwell Football Club, wrote in a message on the club's website. "From youth, through the professional ranks, [the club] is involved in promoting football 365 days a year."

The Davey O'Brien Foundation and selection committee announced Griffin among its list of 16 semifinalists on Oct. 25. The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is given to the nation's best collegiate quarterback and is named after a native Texan and sports hero.

"He was great off the field as well as on the field," said Anna Glazer, associate director of the foundation. "He had great character. He not only played professionally, but also went on to serve in the FBI."

The selection committee consists of 85 representatives, including writers, commentators and broadcasters at the regional and national level. The criteria they consider for the award consists of quarterback skills, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship. However, the O'Brien Award also allows fans to participate in the voting.

"The fans are out there every weekend," Glazer said. "They should have some say and know that they can make a difference. We have the largest fan vote component of any other [collegiate] award."

The field for both the Maxwell and the Davey O'Brien will be narrowed to three finalists on Nov. 22. Fan vote for the O'Brien Award is reset after each round.

The winners will be announced Dec. 9 on the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN.

Fans can vote for Griffin at