Baylor > Lariat Archives > News

Phi Beta Kappa receives national honor

Sept. 16, 2003

By Jenny Felske, reporter

The Phi Beta Kappa Society presented a new award for excellence to its chapter at Baylor University during the society's 40th Triennial Council in Seattle.

The award included a certificate and $1,000. This is the first of its kind to be presented by the Phi Beta Kappa Society, and its purpose is to highlight chapters that take the ideals and goals of the society seriously.

Dr. Philip Johnson, professor of Spanish and secretary of the Baylor chapter, and Dr. Alden Smith, chairman of the classics department and president of the Baylor chapter, were the delegates chosen to accept the award.

'We were both surprised and honored to be selected as one of the initial recipients of the Phi Beta Kappa Society's Outstanding Chapter award,' Johnson said. 'It's a nice distinction for the university to have.'

The Zeta of Texas chapter of Phi Beta Kappa has proven its commitment to excellence and sponsors the Roy Albaugh Phi Beta Kappa Lectureship, holds an annual reception for the National Merit Scholars at Baylor and awards the Henry L. Robinson Memorial Scholarship each year.

The award for excellence was presented to three universities. Williams College received the award among chapters at liberal arts colleges, and the award for a public university was given to the University of Idaho chapter.

John Churchill, secretary of Phi Beta Kappa said in a news release, 'Its members have set an excellent example of how to make a constructive impact on a campus community.'