Baylor > Lariat Archives > News

Teaching award program reaches its 10th year

Oct. 3, 2000



This year marks the 10th anniversary of the Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teachers, a program that recognizes non-Baylor educators. Celebrations began Monday night and continue throughout today.

'I think any time you hit the 10th anniversary with anything, it's a major landmark,' Linda McGregor, coordinator of the Cherry Awards, said. 'For our 10th anniversary, we want to highlight some of the professors that have been here during the past decade.'

Monday night, a symposium on the fifth floor of the Cashion Academic Center featured all six of the former recipients of the Robert Foster Cherry Chair for Distinguished Teaching. The topic, 'The Past as Prologue: Reflections and Projections,' will be expanded on today in their respective academic departments.

Graduating from Baylor in 1929, Cherry entered Baylor Law School in 1932 and passed the state bar exam the following year. He established the Cherry Chair for Distinguished Teaching and the Cherry Award for Great Teachers prior to his death. The two awards are alternated every year.

The recipients of the Cherry Chair receive $100,000 and teach in-residence at Baylor for the spring semester. Selection considerations include extraordinary teaching ability and a record of positive, inspiring and long-lasting effects on students. Other requirements are a scholarship with national and international studies and residence in an English-speaking country.

'I've gotten to know each of the former recipients, and I've appreciated what each of them has brought to the University,' McGregor said.

The symposium and lectures are free and open to the public. Speakers include Dr. Mario Benitez from the University of Texas at Austin; Dr. Franklin Hamlin Littell from Temple University; Dr. Barrett Hazeltine from Brown University; Dr. Peter Beidler from Lehigh University; Dr. John Boles from Rice University and Dr. David R. Woods from the University of Cape Town, South Africa.