Annual Awards Ceremony Features Alumna Jessie Degollado as Guest

April 30, 2014

Baylor alumna Jesise Degollado from KSAT-TV in San Antonio served as the guest speaker for the annual awards ceremony (Photo by Curtis Callaway)

By Lauren Preola, public relations student

The Baylor Journalism, Public Relations and New Media department recognized outstanding students and awarded scholarships to more than 100 students for the 2014-2015 school year during the annual awards ceremony on April 25.

Jessie Degollando, Baylor alumna and San Antonio TV reporter, was the guest speaker for the ceremony. She has been inducted into the San Antonio Women’s Hall of Fame in the communications category, and was awarded the Henry Guerra Lifetime Achievement Award. While attending Baylor she was actively involved with the Baylor Lariat.

Degollando spoke about her success in the journalism field and her love for news. She also offered words of wisdom and encouragement to the students.

“Don’t be discouraged when times get rough, because they will get rough,” Degollando said.

Awards were handed out to the top writers, designers and photography students. The student editors for The Baylor Lariat, Round Up and Focus magazine were also recognized. They were Greg DeVries, The Baylor Lariat; Derek Byrne, The Roundup; Rebecca Malzahn and Kelli Betner, Focus; and Paula Ann Solis, Lariateer of the Year. The department honored multiple students for outstanding work and character they displayed throughout the year.

The outstanding student awards were awarded to the following students:

  • Outstanding Graduate Student – Savannah Landerholm
  • Outstanding Senior Award in News Editorial – Paula Ann Solis
  • Outstanding Senior Award in Public Relations – Kaitlyn Rollins, Parmida Schahhosseini, Derek Byrne, Rebecca Malzahn and Sahara Price
  • Outsanding Student in PRSSA – Parmida Schahhosseini
  • Outstanding Student in NABJ – Alexis Cubit and Rachael Wilson

    A total of 13 students were inducted into the Kappa Tau Alpha Honor Society. These students displayed excellence in their work in journalism. The inductees included Liz Cohen, a graduate student and the following undergraduate students: Jessica Abbey, Elizabeth Arnold, Emily Ballard, Ashton Brown, Melissa Kasper, Walta Nemarian, Mariava Phillips, Courtney Ouellette, Hunter Sappington, Will Temple, Lauren Tidmore and Linda Wilkins.

    Dr. Doug Ferdon, associate professor, was awarded a service award from the Kappa Tau Alpha Honor Society. He has been teaching students at Baylor for more than 30 years, and will be retiring at the end of the spring semester. Associate Professor Robert Darden spoke of Ferdon’s achievements and his impact on Baylor Journalism. It was evident that Dr. Ferdon will be truly missed by the standing ovation he received.

    Scholarship recipients were also recognized during the ceremony. Approximately $192,000 was awarded to 114 students based on merit and need. The department has strong donor support allowing many students to benefit within the department.
  • Are you looking for more News?