2. What if I have Office 2010 for Windows installed and I install Office on my desktop from the portal?
The installer will leave Office 2010 alone and install Office 2013 (currently) as a separate product. It will show the newer Office to be a 365 Pro Plus subscription product, just as above. You can choose to use either of the Office application versions, i.e., open Word 2010 or Word from Office 365 Pro Plus. If you open a document by double-clicking the document icon, it will open in the most recent version of Office.
2a. Should I uninstall Office 2010 before installing?
ITS recommends running only the most recent version of Office, however, uninstalling is not required. You can uninstall Office 2010- either before or after installing the desktop version of Office 365 Pro Plus.
2b. What happens to my Office settings if I have two versions of Office installed?
Since this is a new installation of Office, your settings will remain with Office 2010 and you will have a new configuration of settings for Office 365 Pro Plus.
3. What if I have Office 2013 for Windows installed and I install Office 365 on my desktop from the portal?
The installation will be the same as above, though shorter, but the account information will look slightly different. You'll see a "Show additional licensing information" link: If you click on the link, you'll see that it shows to be activated as both a standard installation, as well as having a subscription license:
4. What if I have Office 2011 installed on my Mac computer?
Since Office 2011 for Mac doesn't require a license key, the installation does not change at all. However, there is a newer version of Outlook that can be installed using your Office 365 account. Click on the install link on the Office 365 website and follow the instructions shown. OneNote is not part of Office 2011, but can also be installed from the Office 365 website.
5. What if I use all my licenses?
You can install on up to 5 computers and 5 tablets and phones. If you have used all of these, you can deactivate licenses. Log in on the web portal and click Install. You'll see a list of active installations. Click 'Deactivate' by the one you want to remove:
6. What happens if I'm not connected to the internet for a long time?
After 30 days, it goes into an "unlicensed" mode. You can continue to use the product on your computer, but you will see errors in the title bar, as shown below, but you can continue to save files locally: After another two weeks, you will see the following in the account info, at which point you can no longer save documents at all: