Book Edited by Former IFL Directors Named Finalist for Award

January 14, 2010
A collection of essays edited by Douglas V. Henry and Michael Beaty, Christianity and the Soul of the University: Faith as a Foundation for Intellectual Community (Baker, 2006), was one of four finalists named for the 2009 Lilly Fellows Program Book Award. Both Dr. Henry and Dr. Beaty are former directors of the Institute for Faith and Learning, and their book developed out of conversations during the a 2004 IFL conference, "Christianity and the Soul of the University: Faith as a Foundation for Intellectual Community."

Christianity and the Soul of the University explores the importance of reflective Christian faith in drawing together the diverse strands of intellectual life of the university. With essays by such noted scholars as Joel A. Carpenter, Jean Bethke Elshtain, Richard B. Hays, David Lyle Jeffrey, and John C. Polkinghorne, the book offers, as articulated in its Introduction, "a rallying cry to all those who, committed to the unity of truth in the Triune Godhead, long for community vitalized by faith formed by intelligent inquiry and characterized by the kindled flame of friendship which, as St. Augustine once professed of his own intellectual community, 'fused our very souls and of many made us one.'"

The biennial Lilly Fellows in the Humanities and Arts Program Book Award honors works from across academic disciplines which offer original and imaginative contributions to the challenges of faith and learning in the Christian intellectual tradition, the vocation of the teacher and scholar, and the history, theory or practice of the university as the site of religious inquiry and culture.

The other finalists for the 2009 Lilly Fellows Program Book Award were: Catholic Higher Education: A Culture in Crisis (Oxford, 2006) by Melanie M. Morey and John J. Piderit; The State of the University: Academic Knowledges and the Knowledge of God (Blackwell, 2007) by Stanley Hauerwas; and The Future of Christian Learning: An Evangelical and Catholic Dialogue (Baker, 2008) edited by Thomas Albert Howard. The winner was The American University in a Postsecular Age (Oxford, 2008) edited by Douglas Jacobsen and Rhonda Hustedt Jacobsen.
Are you looking for more News?