Guittard Book Award for Historical Scholarship

The Department of History at Baylor University is pleased to announce the annual Guittard Book Award for a distinguished work of original scholarship in any area of history, written by a current or emeritus member of the faculty of the Baylor Department of History or by any graduate holding a degree in history from Baylor University.

The award was established in 2013 to accomplish a three-fold purpose. First, it recognizes the legacy of Dr. Francis Gevrier Guittard, who taught at Baylor University from 1902 until his death in 1950, serving as department chair from 1910 until 1948. Second, it seeks to recognize and celebrate the high quality of published scholarship in the field of history produced by Baylor faculty and graduates of the Department of History. Third, it acknowledges the ongoing support of the Guittard family to the Guittard History Fellowship Fund and to the Department of History at Baylor.

The Guittard Book Award is to be made annually to a member of the faculty of the Department of History at Baylor University or to a graduate of the Department of History at Baylor University as follows:

  • One person will be recognized each year as the recipient of the Guittard Book Award. In a rare situation, two historians may receive the award. If no entry is deemed worthy in a given year, the award will not be made.
  • A special committee of three credentialed historians will select the award recipient. No members of Baylor’s History faculty shall serve as voting members on the committee, the intent being to ensure the impartiality of the committee and the integrity of the selection process. The Chair of the Department of History at Baylor University coordinates the special committee and serves as an ex officio, non-voting member.
  • Books published between January 1, 2019 and December 31, 2019 are eligible for the 2019 award. Complimentary copies of books under consideration for the award must be provided for distribution to each of the committee members.
  • Entries must be postmarked by or on April 1, 2020 to be considered for the 2019 award. Nominations for the award may be made by the author, a publisher, or a third party. Regardless, committee members must receive complimentary copies. 

The Guittard Book Award will be presented annually at a time determined by the Chair of History at Baylor. It will be accompanied by an award certificate and a prize of $1,000. Award winners shall be honored by a plaque displayed in the office of the Department of History or other location as determined by the Chair of History.

For further details, contact:
Barry Hankins, Ph.D., Professor and Chair
Department of History
Baylor University
One Bear Place 97306, Waco, TX 76798-7306