Student Spotlight

Baylor University Graduate School would like to shine a spotlight on students who have made great strides within their field of research. 

Mayborn Museum Bryce C. Brown Fellowship Recipients
Farzaneh and Kazuyuki

The Graduate School would like to recognize Farzaneh Mansouri and Kazuyuki Hayashi for receiving the Mayborn Museums Bryce C. Brown Research Fellowship. Farzaneh is a Ph.D. candidate in the Environmental Science Department and will be analyzing baleen plates in the museum's collection to learn about changes in whale ecosystems and food web relationships. Kazuyuki is a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Religion and will be studying glyptics and cuneiform inscriptions to potentially learn more about their language and provenance. 

Kenneth Vaughan
Kenneth Vaughan

The Graduate School would like to recognize Kenneth R. Vaughan for receiving both the outstanding teaching and dissertation award. Kenneth is a recent graduate from the Department of Sociology’s Ph. D. program in the sociology of religion. His research broadly focuses on political sociology, migration, and the sociology of religion. He published research on religious disparities in Lebanon’s consociational democracy, international educational health disparities, and religion and immigration. He recently defended his dissertation on the state of European democracy, focusing on religion, the far-right, and nativism. He has also taught eight sections of Introduction to Sociology as a graduate student Tescher of Record at Baylor University.

Oustanding Student Awards
Outstanding Student Awards

Congratulations to all our Outstanding Graduate Students and Summer Dissertation Fellowship Recipients! Outstanding Dissertation Award winners will receive $1000 each; our Outstanding Graduate Instructors will receive an additional travel grant; and our Summer Dissertation Fellowship recipients received summer funding.

Outstanding Dissertation Awards for 2019:

Michael Rawl, English

Kenneth Vaughan, Sociology

Logan Wiest, Geosciences

Outstanding Graduate Instructor Awards for Fall 2018 and Spring 2019:

James Davidson, Sociology

Sara Dye, English

Samantha Hodges, BioMedical Studies

Nicholas Colgrove, Philosophy

Tori Hudgins, Mathematics

Kenneth Vaughan, Sociology

2019 Summer Dissertation Fellowships:  

Russ Browder, Business

Rachel Kilgore, English

Josh Pittman, English

Aly Baumgartner, Geoscience

Jeff Strietzel, Higher Education & Leadership

Joel Iliff, History

Alyssa Craven, History

Caroline Paddock, Philosophy

Hilary Yancey, Philosophy

Joseph Leman, Psychology & Neuroscience (declined)

Greg Barnhill, Religion

Scott Prather, Religion

CEGSS Symposium
CEGSS Symposium

The Baylor University Graduate School is pleased to have supported the first annual CEGSS Biology Symposium, which took place on Monday (5/6), with a SIC’EM grant. The symposium was a student designed and led academic year-end celebration of the accomplishments of graduate students to kick off the summer conference and research season. An audience of faculty, staff, administrators, grad students and undergrads listened to 15 talks on research and teaching, and participated in a poster session. Watch the Symposium on the Baylor CEGSS Facebook page.

Chenlu Gao
Chenlu Gao

The Baylor University Graduate School would like to congratulate Chenlu Gao, a doctoral student working with Dr. Michael Scullin, for receiving a Psi Chi and Sleep Research Society award for her research presented at the Association for Psychological Science Convention titled "Classical Music During Sleep Facilitates Educational Learning: A Targeted Memory Reactivation Experiment with Immediate and 9-Month Follow-up Testing"

Baylor Graduate School

Baylor Graduate School
Morrison Hall, Suite 200
One Bear Place #97264
Waco, TX 76798-7264

(254) 710-3588

(254) 710-3870