Outstanding Dissertation Award Recipients

This award is given to Baylor doctoral candidates who exhibit exceptional scholarship, research, and writing. They were chosen from a group of nominees recognized by their departments for the outstanding quality of their work, and then the final award recipients were selected by a committee of graduate program directors.

2020-2021 Outstanding Dissertation Award Recipients

2020-21 Outstanding Dissertation Leestma

Dr. Peter Leestma, PhD Information Systems, Baylor University

Dissertation: "The Digitized Infant: A Field Study of Entangled Emotions and Affordances"

Dissertation Mentor: Jonathan Trower, PhD

Postgraduate Employment:  United States Air Force Academy, Assistant Professor

Dr. Lexi Pasi

 Dr. Lexi Pasi, PhD Mathematics, Baylor University

 Dissertation: "Forcing N1-Free Groups to Be Free"

 Dissertation Mentor: Daniel Herden, PhD

 Postgraduate Employment:  Financial Data Scientist

2021 Outstanding Dissertation Rickabaugh

 Dr. Brandon Rickabaugh, PhD Philosophy, Baylor University 

 Dissertation: "The Conscious Mind Unified"

 Dissertation Mentors: Alexander Pruss, PhD, and Timothy O'Connor, PhD

 Postgraduate Employment:  Palm Beach Atlantic University, Assistant Professor

2019-2020 Recipients

Rachel Alexander, Department of Political Science

Sam Yruegas, Department of Chemistry

Renae Wilkinson, Department of Sociology


2018-2019 Recipients
  • Kenneth Vaughan, Department of Sociology
  • Michael Rawl, Department of English
  • Logan Wiest, Department of Geosciences
2017-2018 Recipients
  • Alireza Abdolvahabi, Department of Chemistry
  • Laurie Giddens, Department of Information Systems
  • Scott Ryan, Department of Religion
2016-2017 Recipients
  • Ahmad Borzou, Department of Physics
  • Brendan Payne, Department of History
  • Robert A. Thompson, Department of Sociology
2015-2016 Recipients
  • Puzant Balozian, Department of Information Systems
  • Sarah Martindale, Department of Psychology/Neuroscience
  • Stephen Sims, Department of Political Science
2014-2015 Recipients
  • Logan Gage, Department of Philosophy
  • Brandon Martinez, Department of Sociology
  • VH Satheeshkumar, Department of Physics
2013-2014 Recipients
  • Mary Mathie, Department of Political Science
  • Douglas Moore, Department of Physics

Baylor Graduate School

Baylor Graduate School
Morrison Hall, Suite 200
One Bear Place #97264
Waco, TX 76798-7264

(254) 710-3588

(254) 710-3870