Faculty Named 2012-13 Baylor Fellows

Sept. 27, 2012

The Academy for Teaching and Learning (ATL) at Baylor University is pleased to join Provost Elizabeth Davis in announcing the 2012-13 Baylor Fellows. This year's honorees are:

  • Lisa Baker, Biology and Honors Program

  • Chris Blocker, Marketing

  • Bill Booth, Computer Science

  • Heidi Bostic, Modern Foreign Languages

  • Helen Harris, Social Work

  • Beth Lanning, Health, Human Performance and Recreation

  • Blaine McCormick, Management and Entrepreneurship

  • Alden Smith, Classics

  • DeAnna Toten-Beard, Theater and BIC

  • Charles Weaver, Psychology

The Baylor Fellows Program seeks to foster inspirational teaching and engaged learning by recognizing - and - connecting faculty members who exhibit excellent classroom teaching. Baylor Fellows meet throughout the academic year to discuss creative ways to cultivate in students the habits of critical thinking.

The program is aligned with Aspirational Statement One of Pro Futuris, Baylor's new strategic plan launched on June 1, 2012, that states, "Baylor will be a community recognized for Transformational Education, where academic excellence and life-changing experiences ignite leadership potential that increases our students' desire for wisdom, understanding of calling and preparation for service in a diverse and interconnected global society." The newest Baylor Fellows were selected for the program because of their demonstrated excellence and creativity in teaching and learning.

"As we enter this next phase in the life of our university we need to be even more intentional about helping our students understand that our goal is that they be transformed, and that they have a key role to play in that transformation," Davis said. "We look forward to these outstanding teacher-scholars becoming leaders and exemplars on campus as we continue to improve, innovate and articulate the true promise of a Baylor education."

The ATL also congratulates the 2011-2012 Cohort of Baylor Fellows for their innovation, inspirational teaching and the cultivation of these in the classroom over the past academic year:

  • Gia Chevis, Accounting

  • Mona Choucair, English and Education

  • Kevin Dougherty, Sociology

  • Tisha Emerson, Economics

  • Christopher Hansen, Film and Digital Media

  • Byron Newberry, Mechanical Engineering

  • Brian Raines, Mathematics

  • Michael Stegemoller, Finance, Insurance and Real Estate

  • Tony Talbert, Education

"Being a Baylor Fellow gave me an interdisciplinary peer group of courageous, creative teachers," Dougherty said. "Over weekly lunches, I was challenged and inspired to rethink what and how I teach. I realized that helping students learn to ask good questions is more important than arriving at 'right' answers. And liberating students to take chances, make mistakes and reflect on the learning process pushes them to deeper discoveries about themselves and about the subject. I am a better teacher because of the Baylor Fellows program."

Read about this program created by Baylor to "reward some of its best teachers and challenge them to do something truly daring: teach their students how to think--not just how to think about course material, but rather how to think through the material" in a Chronicle of Higher Education column by Dr. Ed Burger: The Importance of Undisciplined Thinking.