Baylor >  Welcome > Clubs, Events & Awards > Student Literary Contest > 2008 Winners

Read this year's award-winning entries:

"City of God" by REID ECHOLS

"The Empty Chair Next to Me" by JAMES YARBROUGH

"Mass for the Newly Divorced" by DAVID THOMSON

"Repentance" by LYDIA COOPER

"Wernike's Aphasia" by ROBERT HAMILTON

"La Noche de Los Lobos" by REID ECHOLS


"Starting Over" by MICHAEL MAHONE

Congratulations to the winners, and thanks to all who submitted for sharing your talents and hard work. Keep writing, and please submit to next year's Beall Poetry Festival Literary Contest!

About this year's Student Literary Contest judge, ROSANNA WARREN

2008 Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the Student Literary Contest of the Beall Poetry Festival 2008 who received award certificates and checks at a ceremony on April 3rd.

Each received an invitation to a luncheon with the Festival Poets.

The 2008 winners are:

REID ECHOLS for "City of God" won both The Academy of American Poets Prize and the Virginia Beall Ball Poetry Prize.

JAMES YARBOROUGH for "The Empty Chair Next to Me" is the winner of The Poetry In The Arts, Inc., Dr. Robert G. Collmer Award;

DAVID THOMSON for "Mass for the Newly Divorced" is the winner of The Poetry in the Arts, Inc., Dr. James Barcus Award;

LYDIA COOPER for "Repentence" is the winner of The Poetry in the Arts Award (Poetry in the Arts, Inc. awards given by Mrs. Peggy Lynch);

ROBERT HAMILTON for "Wernike´┐Żs Aphasia" and BINH NGUYEN for "Mummy" are the winners of The House of Poetry Awards given by Mr. Lloyd Sanborn;

REID ECHOLS for "La Noche de Los Lobos" (3rd Place), STEPHEN SCHULER for "Shrines" (2nd Place), and MICHAEL MAHONE for "Starting Over" (1st Place) are the winners of the three Dorothy Scarborough Fiction Awards given by the Baylor Alumni Association.