Baylor >  Welcome > Clubs, Events & Awards > Student Literary Contest >  2003 Winners

"For the Ice Fishermen of Oconto Falls, WI" by Joseph Radke

"Father" Frank Sobey

"Being Gertrude" by Rebecca Munro

"Ante Meridiem" by Monte Holman

"Auspex" by Osvaldo de la Torre

"Upon Waking, I Find" by Dereck Clemons

"Grilled Cheese Sandwiches" by Ginger Langford

"Critical Chaos" by Stephen J. Schuler

2003 Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the Student Literary Contest of the Beall Poetry Festival 2003 who received award certificates and checks at a ceremony following the Virginia Beall Ball Lecture on Contemporary Poetry the evening of April 7. Each received an invitation to a luncheon with former U. S. Poet Laureate Robert Pinsky.

2003 winners are

  • Joseph Radke, The Academy of American Poets and Virginia Beall Ball Poetry Prize;
  • Frank Sobey, The Poetry In The Arts, Inc., Dr. Robert G. Collmer Award;
  • Rebecca Munro, The Poetry in the Arts, Inc., Dr. James Barcus Award;
  • Monte Holman, The House of Poetry Prize;
  • Osvaldo de la Torre and Dereck Clemons, The Phoenix Award and
  • Ginger Langford and Stephen J. Schuler, The Dorothy Scarborough Fiction Award.

(Click on the hyperlinked titles at right to read the award-winning entries.)